Search form

New here..need help and advice...

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
New here..need help and advice...

Geeting Everyone,

I first want to say that I have been watching the forums for some time and just wanted to express my compliments to a wonderful community of artists here. I hope to be an active contributer to your discussions. I have a problem that I feel only individuals with knowledge of animation might be able to help me with. A few years ago I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Drawing. My emphasis was life drawing. My intention was to apply to traditional animation studios' for employment as an animator or imbetweener. Shortly after I graduated..many of the studios including disney switched to 3d animation, and it doesn't seem like there are many oppertunities for someone skilled at life drawing. I like 3d animation as well, but one of the things that intersted me in 2d animation was the euphoria of "drawings" that moved, thought, and acted. I've considered 3d, but I'm still wrestiling with 2d as well. I'm researching careers as a story artist or a concept artist as further options. I'm unsure of what to do. I like alkl these career options, but traditional animation is more appealing to me, however I can't seem to find any studio's that do "traditional animation" here in teh US. i guess my question is "Are there any studo's left here in the U.S. that need people with a degree in drawing" if not should I consider those other career options and do any of them need somone skilled at life drawing? My dad recomments I just "do my own thing, and not pursue any companies", but I don't feel good enought to do anything independent. I'm still learning the basics of animation. There is the option to move into 3d, but i didn't want to move that route wthout some understanding of the tradidtional principles involved. I'm lost and confused as to what to do, and my parents are trying to give me time to "fiigure out what to do with the rest of my life" Any advice