Search form

Flash character animation training?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Flash character animation training?

Greetings all!

I have a request that I'm hoping someone here can help me with or perhaps point me in the right direction...

I'm an interactive designer for SAS inSchool (www.sasinschool.com), a industry leading k-12 online educational software development company. My group is comprised of 7 artists/designers, most of whom design/develop they're interactive content in Flash. The overall skill set of the group ranges from intermediate to advanced but we have all been working with Flash for 5+ years.

We are currently looking to further our skills in Flash based character animation and taking Flash to video. We are interested in contracting with a professional Flash animator to come on-site for 4-5 days (hotel and travel included) and help us to expand our understanding of these subjects.

A basic outline of topics we'd like to cover:

1. Standard setups/workflows for character animation in Flash:
1a. Best programs to create character art in.
1b. Best character setup/organization practices.
1c. Actual animation creation process. What's the key differences between traditional frame-by-frame animation and Flash limited style of animation (ie. Do you actually draw all you're keys by hand or just create a character library and try to animated based off the library?)
1d. Tips for lip sync, squash and stretch, etc…
2. Tips, techniques, standards for converting Flash to video (for the web and broadcast).
3. Tips for compositing Flash animations into other video footage (with After Effects or Premier).
4. Work-arounds for the built in limitation of Flash:
4a. Creating a virtual camera?
4b. How to achieve better non-linear ease-in/ease-outs when Flash doesn't have a function-curve editor (like After Effects or a typical 3D app).
4c. Better ways of editing/working with Flash's limited sound editing tools.

…and anything else that might be of value.