Search form

The rebirth of 2D animation

39 posts / 0 new
Last post
The rebirth of 2D animation

Hello.

This term at school, I noticed a many students shunning 3D animation for the 2D route.

That, and I am learning Maya and it just doesn't seem intuitive like 2D does.

That...and I heard, James Baxter (Shrek 2) has left 3D to start up a 2D studio.

Working on my film, I get great satisfaction putting pencil to paper...it's like being an artist.

I will say- I do (when I am professoring) find a direct connection to 3D animation ability and drawing - obviously, the same is true for 2D.

Weak artists make for weak animators.

Thanks.

Larry L.'s picture
Larry web site http://tooninst[URL=http://tooninstitute.awn.com]itute.awn.com [/URL]blog: [U]http://www.awm.com/blogs/always-animated [/U] email: larry.lauria@gmail.com

Hi Wade, I picked on Maya (somewhat unfairly) because as an instructor I encounter students every year who struggle with the software, thinking they are somehow insufficient to learn it. Maya really pushes the image that it is a full service "off-the-shelf" solution (likewise unfair). Can anyone model in Maya "off-the-shelf"? Of course some can - and very well - but most have a slew of mel-scripts and plug-ins that they need to do what other software packages offer in a (for newcomers) more intuitive interface.

So much for that - my main comment is that I am convinced that the 2D and 3D approaches will merge, partly due to technological / interface advances.

I imagine a not-too-distant future wherein the 2D vs 3D discussion won't be a camp (like the software wars of a couple of years ago) but a shot by shot or pipeline discussion - and the technologies will be able to be married in one pipeline.

I've got a lot less formal training than some of the folks around here, and 2D was where my interest started, but I've found what little practice and experience in 2D invaluable in my new interests in 3D.