Search form

A Noob

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
A Noob

Hi im new at this.....really new.....
I want to know how to get started at computers, computers animation, animation, the business ect.
Im really am not going anywhere with my pace and i just want a little guidance.
What are the basics, what i need to know??
Just to get started on a good start.
Let me know how you got started???
Please and Thank You

I forgot to ask!

I may have asked this question before but nobody responded. So here I go again. I wanted to know if there was any where I could get earlier versions of softwares like toon boom, maya and flash. This is because I am using an older imac as I said before.

Thanks much!

Cheers,
gavvalion.

Amazon's new-and-used-sales Marketplace (where normal folk and small businesses as opposed to Amazon sell things) and eBay would probably be the widest net you could cast as far as buying earlier versions. They tend to go for cheap once the Next Big Thing comes out.

I suggest downloading the Maya Personal Learning Edition over at www.alias.com. Then pick up an introductory book on Maya, or start reading tutorials online, of which there are tons (I'd recommend the book first, though).

That's how I got started, except with different software.

Have fun!

-David

Thank you David
Alot

Welcome Gamer,

The way i got started is at my local college. I was taking traditional 2d classes and then they started offering 3d. There is nothing like the help from fellow classmates and the guidance of a good teacher to answer ur ?? when u have them.

when I started out there was no internet. I came from a small town and as an artist no one knew how to give me any guidance whatsoever toward my career. When I said; " i want to animate cartoons for Disney" they would say, that's nice, you draw really well. Guildance councilers were useless and I honestly didnt' know what to do. As a result, I kind of tenaciously stumbled into my career.