Search form

shooting on two's

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
shooting on two's

Hi All

I need some advice on timing.
I'm working on a flash animation and I'm not sure what frame rate is best.
Is somebody able to go in to more detail on frame rates for me.
Am I right in understanding that 'two's' means each drawing will fill two frames? And is 24 frames per second the same for flash animation?

I also need to know what field size to be working too if it's going to be shown on a screen.

Thanks very much!!

Thanks for the info animated ape.
I think I'm gonna animate at 30 fps. I know it will be more work, but I want the animation to look polished and flow smoothly.

:)

You don't say what your animation is going to be used for. If it's for the Internet, then I suspect 30 fps is probably way too high, though I have no Internet animation experience myself, so it would be best to get advice from those who have.

I do know about broadcast animation, however, and I can tell you that if your work is for UK broadcast, then the frame rate (PAL) is 25 frames per second.

IMHO you're a million miles better off looking at using Moho if you want to do 2D vector animation for broadcast use. It's far cheaper and has dozens of features Flash doesn't - just for starters, it has a proper "camera".

Cheers,

Jeff aka Old Fart (also in London)

Hi Jeff

Thanks for the feedback. The animation will be shown at a festival on a screen, but it will have to be transfered onto video (PAL) first. So I'm going to work at 30 fps.

I choice Flash as it's the program I felt most comfortable with (I'm a confident artist but I've not so with computer animation). I havn't heard of Moho, but I'll keep an eye out for it. I trying to limit the programs I'm using so I can get really good with 2 or 3 rather than just know 4 or 5 (but not very well). Maybe once I've got really good with Flash I'll move on, but at the moment it's quite easy so I'm finding it comfortable to use.

I appreciate your feedback