Search form

Character design rates?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Character design rates?

Hello All,

My first time posting here. I'm a freelance illustrator and I've recently been contacted by an animation company to do freelance character designs for an upcoming series. I was asked to give them my design rate.
As an illustrator this is a different area for me. I'm not sure where to start. I don't know anything about design rates and what you would charge for this service. I was hoping some of you could give me some good advice on this matter.
What is a design rate?
What is the standard rate to charge?
Is there any books I can look up?
For illustration there is the GAG handbook This book has a little on animation but doesn't seem to cover this specific topic.
Any info would be appreciated.
Thank you

RS

Depends on the comission type.
If they've approached you because of characters you've developed, and already exist, ie. have been published, that's like managing the rights to your intellectual property.
It they are commissioning you to do designs for properties they are developing that's similar but more like you working to someone else's concept lead.
Its an important difference.
I have done some designs that were sold 100% up front - i.e. I have no rights whatsoever - but these were all done while I was employed at an agency or house.
I've done others as freelance where I received a base pay for development, and a deferred rights package that gave me a percentage per year (anything over 4% is very good) for as long as the property was broadcast. That job was a fairly small percentage due to the size of the concept and number of involved artists. I also had a clause that reverted the character rights to me as soon as the characters were not used for more than one year.
There's so much leeway, it really depends on everything from usage (media), distribution, complexity and client relations.