Search form

Animation Direction

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Animation Direction

Hello everyone! I am a college student confused. I am trying to figure out what I want to major in and I am pretty lost. I want to work in anime; I would do anything in the field but what I would really like to do is direct. Does anyone have any suggestions or know flat-out what are the training requirements for animation directors? Thank you all very much in advance.

Hey Wade How ya been? This is really interesting stuff. Can you shed more light or describe experiences and what you do (in some detail) as a animation director. How did you work your way up to that posistion and what are essentials of being a good director?

"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that has been given to us." ---Gandalf

A director:

- Watches over the design and development process, insuring that the production is following his/her vision for the overall look in the character, prop and location and colour design.

- Makes notes on the script as to what he/she would like to see happen in the storyboard.

- Analyzes the script(s), and makes suggestions of what to improve within it.

- Supervises, checks, and corrects the storyboard of the production(s).

- Makes an animatic of the production(s) to set the pacing.

- Directs the voice talent to portray the characters the way that he/she invisions.

- Sets the style of animation (cartoony, more realistic, etc.) for the animators or sheet directors to follow.

- Supervises the layouts and animation, checking and approving scenes, and gives direction to the animators as necessary (on this side of the pond, or overseas).

- Supervises the ink and paint side of things, giving input as needed.

- Sits with an editor to put all the finished scenes together, calling any more retakes as necessary.

- Supervises the sound department (foley, music, sound f/x, etc.) to ensure that everything is still keeping in line with his/her original vision.