Search form

Whatever happened to paper?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Whatever happened to paper?

Hello all, newbie here. This forum seems to be a great resource- hope to stick around and lurk for a bit.

I'm currently a film major- just switched. I've studied drawing and painting for as long as I can remember and always aspired to animate. (blah blah, I know). I figured the way to go was through studio art, then learn the animation trade. Then low and behold when Disney animators got the axe and my dreams were shattered. Later I decided that my passion was with art direction/ production design, and to do that, I need to establish myself by making my own short films. So now I'm tapping back into my drawing background mainly because once I pay the upfront cost of software, it's the cheapest way to create my own films and allows the most control- both creatively and enviornmentaly.

After some hard core research, I decided ToonBoom is the way to go for my budget. Hey students- did you know the full version can be purchased for $130? Anyhow, I was under the impression I could just scan in the drawings I already have and just go from there. Then ToonBoom tells me I should use a Wacom tablet, convienently another couple hundred bucks. Now I can't decide if this is just a marketing ploy, or if it's necessary. So, is my scanning thing out of the question? I can't just make my drawing move from their original source? Also, from what I've read here I think more RAM is a must, though I have a new computer? Sorry for the ignorance, any help is greatly appreciated.

And on a side note: after experiencing the world of film and animation, I wonder why the two are so divided? I've learned a lot from film theory that I hope to apply to animation. And film students would do well to learn from traditional artist. Any ideas on why this is?

ringers reprise's picture
"Every boy is a snake is a lily. Every pearl is a lynx is a girl," Bjork, Medulla.