Search form

Software question

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Software question

I am a complete beginner to animation and would like to know what software to buy to start with and where to get it.

I would like to try 2D to start with. I've tried a program on a short course, but can't remember what it was.

I've looked in computer shops but the packages are very basic and I can't find a solely animation magazine.

I have a digital camera, scanner and windows xp, books and an idea which I think is almost everything you need to start. Any tips would be appreciated too.

Thanks

Izzy

issy,
I think that maybe your best bet would be to start with toon boom. It's not crazy-expensive, and its easy to use. It lets you mostly ignore the program and focus on the animation, which is what animators want to do anyway. I think that it's a great tool that lets you begin working and viewing your animations quickly.

Don't do nothing because you can't do everything.

You can't go wrong with Flash, but go to ebay and look for version 5 or MX I don't think you want to start out with MX2004. It's overkill unless you are a developer.

Pat Hacker, Visit Scooter's World.

some places that sell flash mx and things offer discounts for students or if you know a teacher if you pay them they can get you a good discount too

dont buy flash... it is NOT animation software

that people do animate with it, is the result of a tragic turn of events
that has absolutely nothing to do with the actual strengths of the program.

flash is mostly a web designer tool
so... unless you want your animations only to be played online, don't use flash

if you want to do 2D animation directly into the computer use a programme that was designed for it like:
-Toonz : http://www.toonz.com/
-Toonboom http://www.toonboom.com/main/
-Mirage: http://www.bauhaussoftware.com/index.php

Peter Wassink - Digital 2D Animator