Search form

What pc configuration?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
What pc configuration?

Hello,I am new to animation and no next to nothing.I have had a dabble with director 7 but found my pc lacking the power to work it right.What would be the sort of system to use and what software.I am after doing a 2-d cartoon animation thing,hopefully to put on a dvd or something...or even(I,m a confidant upstart at the moment!)maybe get it on the telly!!!(I hear you all laught!!)So then what do I need?Is it a mega powerfull graphics card?Lots of hard drive for virtual ram?Help please...I beg and prostrate myself to the great wisdom that is in abundance of this place?!
what about these quad processor machines...would that help things?
May god bless you and all those who sail on her...him...thankyou

Well in all honesty the computing power you need to do 2d capture animation is next to nothing. Unless you're planning on doing Flash animation, and then what you really need is lots or ram. The only thing you need to do 2d capture is plenty of hard drive space for all those uncompressed video files.

just get an hp from walmart and you should be fine. you can buy more ram for under $100 if you need it but that depends on what your using like ender said. nothing real fancy.

Do they have Walmart in the UK? I was sorta hoping someplace was unspoiled, but I guess big box stores are all over...

Cartoon Thunder
There's a little biker in all of us...

I'd say stick with RAM no matter what; video files and editing/compositing is almost as bad as what I imagine AOL is like. And as an aside, don't spend everything you own on a graphics card, because most of the upgrades now are on 3D, but cards as a separate element do offer 2D and basic screen process boosts too. Like a 79 dollar card could help your video more than the 29 dollar one that comes with an old computer. Anything you can do to allow your comp to do whatever other work it needs to do.