Search form

Single White Newbie

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Single White Newbie

Hello,

First, I'd like to say that I think I found a winner with this forum. Today is the first time I've been here, and I've already spent about an hour watching cartoons.

I am completely new to animation, and was hoping for some advice on how to learn. (I mean 2D.) For example, what software? I bought a book this weekend called "Hollywood 2D Digital Animation," and created my first little cartoon in Flash. I've also heard alot about toonboom. What are the advantages of each? Or would there be an advantage to learning one before the other?

Thanks in advance, if anyone is interested here is a link to my first cartoon, it is basically just a character I designed so that I could practice with "squash and stretch."

Welcome

I use flash, it does what it says on the tin and works well.

For a first attempt your short works well. I especially liked the bg buildings.

The Brothers McLeod
[SIZE=2]brothersmcleod.co.uk[/SIZE]

Yeah, that's very good work for a beginner! Congrats! :)

I also like Flash...I think that it is more user friendly than toonboom. I like to do traditional work in Flash, mainly because it is affordable and quick to use. I tried Toonboom but couldn't get on with it like Flash. I've heard that Toomboom is good if you want to lipsync quickly. I don't have much trouble lipsyncing so I'm not bothered about using it. Apparently, if you tell it what you want to say, it will do the lipsyncing for you. Don't know if that's true though.

toob boom has some elements that i like but they would be better off making plugins for flash you know?

glad im not alone in the new area

ive been animating for others but i rairly get time for my own work so hey i guess we can learn together

Thanks for the inupt, guys!