Search form

Epiphany!

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Epiphany!

I would like to know, what is the single IMAGE/and or EVENT which convinced you all that you were meant/or going to be animators. Mine was a gas station commercial, and I didn't make the connection until years later. :)
Waiting to hear!

Bird

I was 6 years old. The family and I were watching the Flintstones on a summer evening. I drew with a blue (how significant) pencil crayon a drawing of fred taking cues from the screen. The family thought it was good. They said I was an artist.

Until then I wanted to be a policeman. Good thing too. Do they have short nearsighted policemen?:)

I was twelve and I read a 1992 National Geographic on computer graphics and completely fell in love with the idea. I found later that I had a pretty decent sense of timing, so animatiopn seemed like the right thing to do. I also watch cartoons religiouly, even at 24.

Great thread Bird...

When I look back on it, I think Jurassic Park had the greatest impact on me when I was kid. I couldn't believe computers could create such believable looking creatures. But it wasn't til just 3 years ago that I got a hold of 3ds max... it was all over after that! I am an accomplished dancer as well, so motion and animation wasn't completely foreign... :D

"i love the graph editor"
[ChrisMagovern.com]
and visit me on myspace...

Whew

Whew!

In 1968, yes that's 1-9-6-8, I was preparing for a track scholarship to UVA.

I was practicing so much I injured myself and was led to fill the three classes with art.

Our school has a program that year in FILMMAKING. My teacher, Mr. Wiz. had a super 8 camera with a cable release. My first short was about a hippie and a flower- it lasted just over 35 seconds - 436 drawings. BUT......I WAS HOOKED!

All I wanted to do was animation!!!!

Thanks for reminding me....

It was 1981...that's right 1-9-8-1!