Search form

Request for advice

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Request for advice

Since everyone else seems to do this in these forums, I'll give it a shot: I'll ask for advice.

I've been studying graphic design for six months, and I've been drawing since I was 10, so I consider myself already a pretty good drawer and, since I practice constantly like you all recommend, I guess I'll be getting better over the years -that would mean, if I'm correct, that I have the basic skill needed to be an animator. I have also read as much theory as It's been possible, so I know certain basic things, but only in theory...

I'm 18 years old and one of my problems is that I live in a country where there's no industry, nvertheless, I still want to do animation. My BIG problem it's that I simply don't know how to start. I have no idea of what are the charachteristics a draw must have in order to be fitable for animation (I understand there are rules for this), I don't know how to use flash, or maya, or 3dMax, or any of those things (I'm still learning how to use photoshop!!) and everyone insists on telling me I have to wait until I finish my studies on design before moving onto animation (I don't even know if that's a good advice). My question would be not only how to begin, how to actually PRACTICE animation, but also, if I DO need to be really good in computer programming before starting.

I'll be waiting for your answers...

David Metzen

TIMING is the more "basic skill needed to be an animator," n'est pas? That is to say, you can have minimal drawing skills (like Doug Hertzfeldt or the people who do some of those Adult Swim shows or the South Park boys) while still being a productive animator.

The finish-your-design-education advice sounds like crap to me. It sounds like the kind of advice you'd get from people who aren't animators. Design is important, but you can learn animation design more effectively in animation classes.