Search form

animation studio

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
animation studio

Can someone explain to me the difference between an animation studio and a service studio? Thank you.

Ultimately, depends on the studio, on the service agency.

Everyone draws the line elsewhere. Some full-service production studios outsource everything but management, others keep everything in-house.

I would interpret a 'service house' as being a limited offering - a 'studio' as being full-fledged, either pure production or coupled with content development. A boutique might be full-production but specialized on smaller, design-centric projects.

Etc.

Helpful?

Thanks

I have a few follow up questions. I am very new to this industry and I wanted to know if you have a cartoon idea and you take it to a studio do they buy it from you or do you develop the concept with them. Would it be possible if you had enough money to go to a studio to produce it and use there connects to get to the networks. If you could help me out I would appreciate it. Thanks

Generally speaking, an animation service studio is a studio who offers its services to producers in order to get the job done. Usually, they just do the work, and wash their hands of it. They do not need to find financing for the project, and own no rights over it either because of that. They will offer all services, or a part of them.

Producers (Animation studios) need to find the money to make projects, aneed to find broadcasters, need to market their projects, so on and so on.