Search form

Complete stories on demo reels?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Complete stories on demo reels?

As a recent graduate, I have put together my student animation(3D) reel and have been asking myself whether or not I should include my entire 2 minute 'story' or to just take parts of it and throw in a hodge podge of my best work. As of now, my reel includes my entire 2 minute story, plus two shorter pieces, which adds up to be quite a long reel with intro/outro, 4 minutes. I am concerned only because I have heard that employers like to see that I am able to tell complete stories, but I have also heard that 4 minutes is much too long. I'm torn.

Any thoughts? Entire story vs. bits and pieces of best work?

If you want to see what my animation reel is now, it's in the animation section at:www.CFMagovern.com

I appreciate any opinions/suggestions! Thank you. :D

"i love the graph editor"
[ChrisMagovern.com]
and visit me on myspace...

I like the 'what's new pussycat' clip best by far; then the first part of the live-action mix (the background in the second part sticks out like a sore thumb); then the 'Baryshnibots; then the short. If it were up to me I'd edit them in that order, and lose the 2D piece altogether.
Also, the list of software you have now is pretty meaningless, as there's no way you know all those packages thoroughly. You could make a list of your key apps and a second list of apps you've dabbled in.

cheers,
~D

I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy [i]-Tom Waits
[/i]

I keep crashing every time I try to look at your demo reel. It is kind of weird. And I keep sending error reports to Microsoft, but the technician still hasn't shown up at my door ;) .