Search form

Character Design

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Character Design

Hello All,

This is my first post but I have been following the forums for a few months now. Great place! I am a total newbie but I'm interested in animation as a hobby. I'm currently a software developer (pharmaceuticals) so I have no problem playing around with software, it's more the traditional technique I am interested in. I can draw but I would like to learn to draw correctly if that makes sense. I would appreciate recommendations for books on character design. I have checked out Larry's Toon Institute (great site) and have purchased The Animator's Survival Kit Book but I would like some more reading. All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,
Courtney

For beginning character design for animation I would check out Christopher Hart's book, How to Draw Animation
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0823023656/qid=1087916547/sr=8-3/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i3_xgl14/104-8340049-7184702?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

and of course Preston Blair's book, Cartoon Animation.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1560100842/qid=1087916582/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/104-8340049-7184702?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

And of course a good animation has to know how to draw the human form, so check out Hogarth and Glenn Vilpuu

The Animation Survival kit by Richard Williams really gets into the nitty gritty of animation.

ed

Department of Computer Animation
Ringling College of Art and Design
Sarasota Florida

hey coder
here are two other fun books , worth a look into

cartooning . the head and figure by jack hamm

and
FUn with a pencil : andrew loomis

Great!

Thanks everyone for the advice!

Jack Hamm was a great guy. I got to spend the day with him at his house back about ten years ago. Before I left he gave me copies of every book he had ever written. His work still amazes me to this day.

All great. I can only add Kent Hultgren's ANimal Anatomy book. Deals greatlt with charcater design.