Search form

Portfolio advice

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Portfolio advice

This may be redundant...but

i'm a junior art major undergrad and this fall i'll be putting together my portfolio for grad school applications. I'm going to be applying to 3d animation programs but i really have no clue as to what i should be doing right now for my portfolio. I'm really starting with scratch because i'm getting started so late (i'm skipping a year of undergrad and i didnt switch to an art major until this past year! eep!)

to make a long story short i've only got about a half a year to develope an impressive little portfolio and i'm in panic mode. :eek: can anyone give me advice or point me in the right direction for such advice? thanks!

Don't sweat it, 6 months should be plenty.
If you have some life drawings, put them in. If you don't, enroll in some. If they tell you you're too late to enroll, try to persuade them to let you in anyway. They might give you a hard time, but usually you can win them over (I got kicked out of 3 artschools in my day and still managed to graduate from a 4th, so I have some experience there)
Do some sketches at the park or any place convenient. Go to the zoo and make some sketches of animals. Make drawings of whatever interests you. If you like designing, then put in some designs, but make sure they 're not ripoffs from other designers (i.e. comics, Disney or anime). Teachers will be looking for an individual, not a clone.

Long story short; show them what you're about; that you're an aspiring artist with potential and a vision of his own. It won't be the quantity but the quality that tells them that.
If you want feedback, post your stuff in the educators forum. They go through portfolios all the time, so they can tell you exactly where you're at.
Within 6 months months you should have a portfolio that gets you in no problema.

cheers,
~D

I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy [i]-Tom Waits
[/i]