Search form

The Academy Dives into The Abyss

THE ABYSS, the deep-sea epic renowned for its pioneering digital water effects and sophisticated underwater photography and sound recording, will be screened at a special 20th anniversary event by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Tuesday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. at the Linwood Dunn Theater in Hollywood. This screening will premiere a newly struck 35mm print from the Academy Film Archive.

Presented by the Academy's Science and Technology Council, the event will be hosted by film historian and author Eric Lichtenfeld and will feature an onstage panel discussion on the role motion picture science and technology played in shaping the film. Guests will include members of the film's Oscar-winning visual effects team, John Bruno, Dennis Skotak and Hoyt Yeatman, and nominees Mikael Salomon (Cinematography) and Lee Orloff (Sound) as well as John Knoll, the movie's computer graphics designer who specialized in the development of the Pseudopod creature elements.

THE ABYSS stars Ed Harris and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio and tells the story of crew members on an underwater oil rig during the Cold War who are enlisted to help rescue an American submarine, and the bizarre, mysterious force they discover living in the deep.

Established in 2003 by the Academy's Board of Governors, the Science and Technology Council provides a forum for the exchange of information, promotes cooperation among diverse technological interests within the industry, sponsors publications, fosters educational activities and preserves the history of science and technology of motion pictures.

Tickets to THE ABYSS are $5 for the general public and $3 for Academy members and students with a valid ID. Tickets are available for purchase by mail, at the Academy box office (Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.), or online at Doors open one hour prior to the event. All seating is unreserved.

The Linwood Dunn Theater is located at 1313 Vine Street in Hollywood. For more information call (310) 247-3600 or visit

Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 11:00am to 7:00pm
Submission Deadline 
Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 12:00pm