Search form

Tagged With: Awards

Awards Headline News

Selick to Present at 2010 Student Academy Awards

Oscar-nominated animator Henry Selick and director Penelope Spheeris will present at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 37th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on Saturday, June 12, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Awards Headline News

Egypt’s 'Honayn’s Shoe' crowned Best Animation at African Movie Academy Awards

By Dan Sarto | Friday, April 16, 2010 at 12:45pm

Honayn's Shoe, an animated tale about a lost nomad’s search in the desert, with his camel, for his lost shoe, was named Best Animation at this year’s African Movie Academy Awards.

Series Headline News

2010 Streamy Awards Nominees Announced

Nominations for the 2nd Annual Streamy Awards were announced in a live online broadcast today by the International Academy of Web Television, an independent organization of digital entertainment leaders created to recognize excellence in original episodic Web television programming.

Film Headline News

Big Sky Documentary Film Festival Announces Awards for 2010 Festival

By Matt Kapko | Monday, February 22, 2010 at 6:45am

The judges of the seventh annual Big Sky Documentary Film Festival have selected this years award winning films in the four competitive categories: Best Feature, Big Sky Award, Best Short Film and Best Mini Doc (under 15 minutes).

Awards Headline News

Anne Hathaway to Lend Talent to Oscar Nominations

By Matt Kapko | Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 7:31am

Nominations for the 82nd Academy Awards will be announced on Tuesday, February 2, by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Tom Sherak and Oscar-nominated actress and Academy member Anne Hathaway.

Awards Headline News

TV Chef Joanne Weir Flip Video Founder to Accept Tasty Awards

By Matt Kapko | Monday, January 18, 2010 at 7:49am

TasteTV today announced that TV Chef Joanne Weir and the Founder of the FLIP mini-videocamera, Simon Fleming-Wood, will be accepting TASTY AWARDS at the most exciting and prestigious event ever to celebrate food and fashion programs on TV, in Film, and on the Web.

Awards Headline News

ASC Nominates 5 for Outstanding Achievement Award

By Matt Kapko | Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at 10:00am

The finalists in the feature film category of the 24th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards competition are Barry Ackroyd, BSC for The Hurt Locker, Dion Beebe, ASC, ACS for Nine, Christian Berger, AAC for The White Ribbon, Mauro Fiore, ASC for Avatar and Robert Richardson, ASC for Inglorious Basterds.

Awards Headline News

Sony's Animax To Air Video Game Awards

Sony Pictures Television's Animax stations will air the 2009 Video Game Awards in Asia, Central Europe, Latin America, Africa, Spain and Portugal.

Nickelodeon Headline News

Nickelodeon awarded four BAFTAs at Children’s Awards

By Matt Kapko | Tuesday, December 1, 2009 at 9:32am

Nickelodeon UK was presented with four awards at the EA British Academy Children’s Awards which took place on Sunday 29 November. The awards ceremony, which celebrates the very best in Children’s Entertainment from the last year, saw Nickelodeon recognised with 11 nominations across a variety of categories.

Awards Headline News

Marc Shaiman Named Music Director for 82nd Academy Awards

By Matt Kapko | Monday, November 23, 2009 at 12:39pm

Oscar-nominated composer Marc Shaiman will serve as music director for the 82nd Academy Awards, telecast producers Adam Shankman and Bill Mechanic announced today.

Awards Headline News

Sci-Tech Applications for 2009 Academy Awards Due July 31

Press Release from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Beverly Hills, CA -- The submission deadline for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 2009 Scientific and Technical Achievement Awards is Friday, July 31. A completed entry form must be submitted to the Academy online by 5 p.m. PT.

In late May, the Academy mailed more than 850 "call for entries" letters to individuals and companies around the world specializing in motion picture science and technology.

Awards Headline News

Academy Tweaks Song and Honorary Award Rules

Press Release from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences approved the rules for the 82nd Academy Awards at their meeting earlier this week (6/23). In addition to the previously announced change in the Best Picture category, a significant change was made in the Music -- Original Song category.

Awards Headline News

Dark Knight Receives Five Saturn Awards, WALL-E Wins for Animation

Press Release from the Saturn Awards

It was a stellar evening for "The Dark Knight" as the Christopher Nolan film garnered five Saturn Awards at the 35th Annual Saturn Awards. The film was named Best Action/Adventure/Thriller Film. The Warner Bros. release also received awards for Best Writing: Christopher Nolan & Jonathan Nolan, Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger, Best Music: Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, and Best Special Effects.

Awards Headline News

Animex Awards 2010 Call for Entries

Animex Awards Call for EntriesDeadline: October 1, 2009

Animex Awards is inviting entries from student animators, games designers and visual effects artists for 2010. Judging panels from previous Awards have included representatives from Pixar, ILM, Disney, Aardman Animation, Sony Imageworks, DreamWorks Animation and Electronic Arts, to name but a few.

There are two ways to enter:

Trailer Headline News

Winners of the Golden Trailers for 2009

Press Release from the Golden Trailer Awards

Los Angeles, CA -- June 5, 2009 -- The best movie previews of 2009 were crowned last night at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles, when the 10th Annual Golden Trailer Awards were conferred before a live audience. In a show hosted by comedian, writer and actor Dean Edwards ("Saturday Night Live,", with presenters culled from the ranks of today's top and up-and-coming comedians, statuettes for 16 award categories were handed out. Additionally, one of these winners was also named Best in Show.