Search form

Yvon Of The Yukon Conquers The Leo Awards

The Leo Awards 2002 ceremony took place at the Westin Bayshore Resort & Marina in Vancouver, BC on May 11, 2002. Honoring the best in British Columbia's film and television industry, the big winner in the animation and children's category was Studio B's YVON OF THE YUKON (Producer: Kathy Antonson Rocchio, Executive Producers: Blair Peters and Chris Bartleman), which took home Leo's for Best Youth or Children's Program or Series, Best Animation Program or Series and Best Director, Youth or Children's Program or Series (Greg Sullivan for the episode "Chariots of Fire"). Other winners in the Animation Program or Series category were: Moose Pagan for Best Direction/Storyboarding on AAAGH! ITS THE MR. HELL SHOW; Marcel Duperreault, Todd Araki, Jason Fredrickson and Kirk Furniss for Best Overall Sound for ACTION MAN "The Ultimate Doom Part 2"; and the Best Musical Score award was presented to Michael Richard Plowman for his work on A FREEZER BURNT CHRISTMAS. In the Student Film Category, Byron Dauncey from Vancouver Film School won for his 2D animated film AUGUST 11, 1988.

If winning all those awards weren't enough, the BBC has confirmed an order for an additional 26 x 22-minute episodes of YVON OF THE YUKON. Production on season 3 and 4 of the series will start this summer at Studio B.