Search form

WGA's Animation Writer's Caucus honors Gordon Bressack

The Writer's Guild of America's Animation Writers Caucus presented its first-ever Animation Writing Award to Gordon Bressack, at its annual meeting and reception on Wednesday, October 7, 1998. The honorary award is given to "that member of the Animation Writers Caucus and/or the guild who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has advanced the literature of animation in film and/or television through the years, and who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of the animation writer." Craig Miller, chair of the Animation Writers Caucus, said, "We're very pleased that the guild has seen fit to present this new annual award. It confirms the guild's determination to bring animation writing fully into its fold and that the guild holds animation in the same esteem it holds all other writing." Bressack, whose credits include "Animaniacs," "Pinky and the Brain," "Tiny Toons," "Darkwing Duck" and "Captain Simian and the Space Monkeys," received a 1996 Daytime Emmy for Achievement in Animation for "Animaniacs."

In 1994, the WGA formed the Animation Writers Caucus (AWC) to address the issues of working conditions in the field of animation, as well as to provide a forum in which animation writers could gather to exchange information and address methods of organizing. Read all about it in Craig Miller's article in the September 1998 issue of Animation World Magazine.