Search form

WALL-E Editor Stephan Schaffer Wins Historic Eddie

For the first time in 59 years, an animated film has won at the ACE Eddie Awards. SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE, (edited by Chris Dickens) and WALL-E (edited by Stephen Schaffer) won Best Edited Feature Film (Drama) and Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical) respectively at the 59th Annual ACE Eddie Awards Sunday night where trophies were handed out in nine categories of film, television and documentaries.

The black-tie ceremony was held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel with over 1,000 in attendance to celebrate the year's best editing. MAN ON WIRE (edited by Jinx Godfrey) won Best Edited Documentary.

Television winners included 30 ROCK for "The Reunion" (edited by Meg Reticker), BREAKING BAD's "Pilot" (edited by Lynne Willingham, A.C.E.), TRUE BLOOD for "Strange Love" (edited by Michael Ruscio, A.C.E. and Andy Keir), RECOUNT (edited by Alan Baumgarten, A.C.E.), and 24: REDEMPTION. (edited by Scott Powell, A.C.E.). This is the second year that the ACE Eddie Awards added a Best Edited Non-Scripted/Reality Series category and that prize went to GREENSBURG: THE TORNADO (edited by Leonard Feinstein and Phontaine).

The Student Editing Competition winner was Junna Xiao of American Film Institute who beat out hundreds of competitors from film schools and universities around the country.

Prolific producer/director Richard Donner received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honor presented to him by Mel Gibson. Lifetime Career Achievement Awards went to industry veterans Sidney Katz, A.C.E. and Arthur Schmidt. Their careers were highlighted with clip reels and praise from friends and colleagues during the affair. The evening was presided over by the new President of American Cinema Editors, Randy Roberts, A.C.E. Actress and comedian Aisha Tyler served as the evening's M.C.

Presenters included distinguished industry veterans along with fresh faces paying tribute to the evening's honorees and nominees including Oscar nominees Taraji P. Henson and Frank Marshall, Robert Zemeckis, Edward James Olmos, and others.

A full list of winners follows:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic):


Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical):

WALL-EStephen Schaffer

Best Edited Half-Hour Series For Television:

30 ROCK: "Reunion"Meg Reticker

Best Edited One-Hour Series For Commercial Television:

BREAKING BAD: "Pilot"Lynne Willingham, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television:

TRUE BLOOD: "Strange Love"Michael Ruscio, A.C.E. and Andy Keir

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Non-Commercial Television:

RECOUNTAlan Baumgarten, A.C.E.

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Commercial Television:

24: REDEMPTIONScott Powell, A.C.E.

Best Edited Documentary:

Man on WireJinx Godfrey

Best Edited Reality Series:

GREENSBURG: THE TORNADOLeonard Feinstein and Phontaine

Student Editing Competition

Junna Xiao -- American Film Institute