Search form

Voting Opens For Second Annual Channel Frederator Awards

Channel Frederator, the largest Internet cartoon network in the world and one of the founding networks of Next New Networks, today announced the nominations for its second annual Channel Frederator Awards.

The voting pages go live today at: Winners will be honored at an awards party in New York City that will air online June 10, 2008.

The Channel Frederator Awards honor a wide array of achievements seen throughout the year on weekly Channel Frederator episodes. Films submitted to Channel Frederator range from traditional pen and ink, to stop motion, to paper collage and a variety of mixed media.

The Awards recognize user-submitted films in categories that range from "Cartoon of the Year" to the "So Cute It Hurts Award." Channel Frederator received more than 2,000 submissions from users and has featured more than 400 cartoons.

The Channel Frederator Awards include 33 nominated films in a total of 11 viewer-voted categories, as well as seven juried categories. The "2008 Cartoonist of the Year" will be chosen by the viewers and staff of Channel Frederator, and will be announced at the end of May.

Views of the online broadcast are expected to double last year's two million views and more 500 people are expected to attend the "Metropolis" themed ceremony at the Canal Room in New York City on Wednesday, June 4, 2008.

Since its launch in 2005, Channel Frederator has quickly become a top destination for animated content. Its popular series The Meth Minute 39 has received over 15 Million views.

A full list of all nominees can be found at: To vote, visit Channel Frederator at for information and guidelines.