Search form

Three-Prize Winner at Annecy Wins Top Prize at Ottawa

The 30th Ottawa Intl Animation Festival came to a close on Sunday, Sept. 24, 2006, with the awarding of its prizes. The jury consisting of Konstantin Bronzit, Rob Coleman and Jeff Scher awarded the Nelvana Grand Prize for Best Independent Short Animation to Joanna Quinns DREAMS & DESIRES: FAMILY TIES, which previously in the year won three awards at Annecy.

The Grand Prize for Best Commissioned Animation went to FedEx STICK, directed by Framestore New Yorks David Hulin, which also won the prize for Promotional Animation.

The Student Grand Prize was awarded to MR. SCHWARTZ, MR. HAZEN & MR. HORLOCKER, which was helmed by Stefan Mueller of FH Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences in Germany.

The international jury for features, school and new media competitions consisted of Bruno Brozzetto, Arnaldo Galvao and Jonathan Hodgson.

Below is a complete list of winners.

Nelvana Grand Prize for Best Independent Short Animation DREAMS & DESIRES: FAMILY TIESJoanna Quinn

Grand Prize for Best Commissioned AnimationFedEx STICKDavid Hulin

Grand Prize for Best Student AnimationMR. SCHWARTZ, MR. HAZEN & MR. HORLOCKERStefan Mueller

National Film Board of Canada Public PrizeJAIME LO SMALL AND SHY Lillian Chan

Canadian Film Institute Award for Best Canadian AnimationTHE MAN WHO WAITED (LHOMME QUI ATTENDAIT)Theodore Ushev

Honorable MentionCHANGING EVAN Steven Woloshen

Mercury Prize for Best Animated FeatureTHE CHRISTIESPhil Mulloy

Best Animation Show ReelFilmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg

Best Narrative Short under 35 MinutesHERE AND THERE (ICI PAR ICI)Obom

Honorable MentionTHE CARNIVAL OF ANIMALS (KARNEVAL ZVIRAT)Michaela Pavlatova

Best Experimental/ Abstract Animation under 35 MinutesJEUGeorges Schwizgebel

Honorable MentionBACKYARD SHADOW Karl Staven


Adobe Prize for Best High School AnimationCHECKSamuel MacKinnon

Honorable MentionBLACK BOXHye Jin Park, Hyun Joo Song, Ji Na Yoon & Min Hee Jang

Best Undergraduate AnimationTHE BUILDINGMarco Nguyen, Pierre Perifel, Xavier Ramonede, Olivier Staphylas & Remi Zaarour

Best Graduation AnimationMR. SCHWARTZ, MR. HAZEN & MR. HORLOCKERStefan Mueller

Honorable MentionTHE POSSUM Chris Choy

Best Promotional Animation FedEx STICKDavid Hulin

Honorable MentionUnited Airlines: DRAGONJamie Caliri

Best Music VideoJason Forrest: WAR PHOTOGRAPHERJoel Trussell

Best Television Animation for AdultsJOURNEY TO THE DISNEY VALT Robert Marianetti, David Wachtenheim & Glenn Steinmacher

Best Animated Short Made for the InternetITS JERRYTIME!: The BruteOrrin Zucker

Kutoka Award for Short Animation Made for ChildrenTHE MAN WHO WALKED BETWEEN THE TOWERSMichael Sporn

Collideascope Award for Television Animation for ChildrenCODENAME KIDS NEXT DOOR: L.I.C.O.R.I.C.E.Tom Warburton

TELETOON Canadian Student Animation Scholarship

Entrance Competition 1) CHECK / Samuel MacKinnon 2) BRUNO / Aven Fisher 3) THE LITTLE GIRL WHO STARES / Cleo Halfpenny

Continuing Education Competition1) 2 / Kim Anderson 2) UMBRELLA BOY / Andrew Ross 3) PINCH / Jody Kramer

Most Promising Student Competition1) LOR ROUGE / Kent Hugo 2) LATE NIGHT COMEDY / Chay 3) Animation Test Pilot / Brad Kinley

For more information please go to

Rick DeMott's picture

Rick DeMott
Animation World Network
Creator of Rick's Flicks Picks