Search form

Sid Ganis Re-Elected President Of Academy

Sid Ganis was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night by the organization's Board of Governors. This will be his fourth consecutive term in the office.

In addition, Robert Rehme, an Executives Branch governor and past Academy president, was re-elected first vice president; Producers Branch governors Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch were elected to vice president posts; Executives Branch governor Tom Sherak was elected treasurer and Public Relations Branch governor Cheryl Boone Isaacs was elected secretary.

"It's such a privilege to serve as president of this Academy," said Ganis. "It's a dynamic time for our organization and our art form. I'm incredibly proud to be part of it."

These will be the first officer stints for Kennedy and Sherak. Isaacs has previously served one term each as vice president and treasurer, Koch previously served one term as treasurer and Rehme has served in various officer posts, including president, a total of 17 terms.

Ganis founded Out of the Blue Ent., which is housed on the Sony lot, in 1996. Prior to founding Out of the Blue, Ganis held various positions at Sony Pictures, including vice chairman of Columbia Pictures and president of worldwide marketing for Columbia/Tri-Star Motion Picture Companies. Before joining Sony, Ganis served for five years at Paramount Pictures as president of the motion picture group and before that was the studio's president of worldwide marketing. Previously, Ganis was SVP of Lucasfilm, Ltd.

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.