Search form

Ottawa Awards Top Prize To Ring Of Fire

The 2000 edition of the Ottawa International Animation Festival has come to a close with the announcement of this years winners. The winners were chosen by an international jury, comprised of acclaimed Canadian animator Suzanne Gervais, former ASIFA-Hollywood general manager and critic, animator and teacher Wendy Jackson Hall, Wild Brain co-Founder and creative director John Hayes, renowned Estonian animator Priit Pärn, and the head of the Shanghai Animation Studio in China Jin Guo Ping. This years top honors went to Andreas Hykades groundbreaking animated film RING OF FIRE. (While Priit Pärn shared an inside joke of admiration with Igor Kovalyov publicly stating Kovalyovs FLYING NANSEN should have won; just as Kovalyov stated in his 1996 acceptance speech that Parns 1895 should have won.) The international jury awarded this film the grand prize for "its a daring exploration of suffering, redemption and love." RING OF FIRE follows two young cowboys who spend their days in the cool shade of a rock, but at night they make their way to the bazaar of sexual desire. Below is a complete list of winners.

Grand Prize: RING OF FIRE by Andreas Hykade

Grand Prize Commissioned Film: DRAWN FROM LIFE series by Paul Fierlinger

Grand Prize Best Internet Film: ROMANOV Episode 8 Shadow Split by Chris Lanier

Frédérick Back Award For Best Canadian Film: WHEN THE DAY BREAKS by Wendy Tilby & Amanda Forbis

ASIFA-Canada Public Prize: FATHER & DAUGHTER by Michael Dudok de Wit

Independent Film: FATHER & DAUGHTER by Michael Dudok de Wit

Crater Software Award For Best Graduate Film: SUBIDA by Kunyi Chen

Film For Children: YOUR CHOICE by Koji Yamamura

First Professional Film: THE PERIWIG MAKER by Steffen Schaeffler

Educational Productions: UNDERSTANDING THE LAW: THE WORM by Diane Obomsawin

Programme ID: WORKSHOP by Jeff Sias

Commercial: "Rallys G-Force" by Peter Chung

Music Video: POWs "Live The Life You Love" by Kris Lefcoe & Harvey Glazer

Television Special: HOOVES OF FIRE by Richard Goleszowski

Television Series: THE PJS "The Preachers Life" by Marv Newland


Chromacolour Award For Best Use Of Colour: FUGUE by Georges Schwizgebel

Best Design: CRIME & PUNISHMENT by Piotr Dumala

Best Use Of Music/Sound: TUNING THE INSTRUMENTS by Jerzy Kucia

Cartoon Network Award for Best Animation: FLYING NANSEN by Igor Kovalyov

Special Jury Prize: LE CHAPEAU by Michele Cournoyer

Object Animation Award: GILBERT & SULLIVAN THE VERY MODELS by Barry Purves

Computer Animation Award: FISHING by David Gainey

Best Animation Employing Unusual Technique: ANGRY KID by Darren Walsh

Gordon Bruce Award For Humor: AU BOUT DU MONDE (AT THE ENDS OF THE EARTH) by Konstantin Bronzit

Mike Gribble Peel Of Laughter Award: THREE MISSES by Paul Driessen

Rick DeMott's picture

Rick DeMott
Animation World Network
Creator of Rick's Flicks Picks