Search form

Nolan to Receive Kudos from Cinematography Association

Award-winning writer-producer-director Christopher Nolan will receive the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Board of Governors Award, which is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to advancing the art of filmmaking. Nolan will be feted during the 23rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration on February 15, at the Century Plaza Hotel.

"Chris Nolan is infused with talent with which he masterfully uses to collaboratively create memorable motion pictures," said ASC President Daryn Okada. "His quest for superlative images to tell stories has earned the admiration of our members."

Previous recipients of the ASC Board of Governors includes Gregory Peck, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Robert Wise, Francis Ford Coppola, Robert Altman, Warren Beatty, Stanley Donen, Norman Jewison, Irwin Winkler, Sydney Pollack, Ron Howard, and Annette Bening, among others.

"Chris Nolan combines classic filmmaking techniques and new technology in ways that are inspiring for the next generation of filmmakers," said Michael Goi, ASC, chairman of the organization's Awards Committee.

Nolan has earned a diverse range of credits, including such memorable films as MEMENTO, INSOMNIA, BATMAN BEGINS, THE PRESTIGE and THE DARK KNIGHT.