Search form

Nickelodeon and TV Asahi Animated Shows Win Peabodys

Nickelodeons DORA THE EXPLORER is one of the winners of the 63rd Annual Peabody Awards to be awarded by the University of Georgias Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication on May 17, 2004. The 29 award winners for excellence in electronic media, chosen from more than 1,100 entries, also includes recognition for Japans TV Asahi, MOTHER FLEW AWAY AS A KITE, an arresting animated recounting of the last days of WWII.

The awards will be presented at a luncheon at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City to be hosted by Katie Couric, co-anchor of NBCs TODAY and contributing anchor for DATELINE NBC.

The winners announced today are a strong reflection of the current state of the media industry, commented Horace Newcomb, Peabody Awards director. As always, the honorees run the gamut from the best in international programming to documentaries and local investigative reporting to public service campaigns. And, for the first time, weve awarded a program developed specifically for the Internet.

In a Peabody Award first, a Web program will be honored this year:, an experiment in channeling new work and voices to public radio through the Internet. The educational and hyperactive site was noted for bringing new voices into the media mix.

The Peabody Board is a 15-member group, comprised of television critics, broadcast and cable industry executives and experts in culture and the arts, that judges the entries.

The judges appreciated the inventive devices the DORA series uses to teach Spanish phrases to its young audience, and in doing so emphasize the importance of multilingual education.

The Peabody Awards, established in 1940 and administered by UGAs Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, are the oldest honor in electronic media. Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and individuals. For more information, visit: and to view a complete list of winners go to: