Mr. Fox, Lost Thing Take Top Prizes at Annecy

The Annecy International Animation Festival wrapped up its 50th edition on June 12, 2010.

The Annecy International Animation Festival wrapped up its 50th edition on June 12, 2010. Top prizes were awarded to Wes Anderson's FANTASTIC MR. FOX and Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan's THE LOST THING. In addition to the prizes the festival saw the premieres of DESPICABLE ME, Pixar's new short DAY & NIGHT and SAMMY'S ADVENTURES.

Below is a full list of winners.

FEATURE FILMSFEATURE FILM JURYManuela Schöbel-Lumb, Ari Folman, Tim Rice

The Cristal for best featureFantastic Mr. FoxWes AndersonUSATwentieth Century Fox

Special DistinctionKerity la Maison des contes / Eleanor's SecretDominique MonféryFrance, ItalyGaumont-Alphanim, La Fabrique Production, Lanterna Magica SRL

Audience AwardFantastic Mr. FoxWes AndersonUSATwentieth Century Fox

SHORT FILMSSHORT FILMS JURYSayoko Kinoshita, Patrice Leconte, John Musker

The Annecy CristalThe Lost ThingAndrew Ruhemann, Shaun TanAustralia, Great BritainPassion Pictures Australia PTY, Ltd.

Special Jury AwardSinna mann / Angry ManAnita KilliNorwayTrollfilm AS

"Jean-Luc Xiberras" Award for a first filmJean-FrançoisTom Haugomat, Bruno MangyokuFranceCube Creative Productions

Special Distinction ex aequoLes Journaux de Lipsett / Lipsett's DiariesTheodore UshevCanadaONF

Special Distinction ex æquoDon't GoTurgut AkacikTurkeyAnima Studios Istanbul

Sacem Award for original musicLove & TheftAndreas HykadeGermanyStudio Film Bilder GMBH

Audience AwardSinna mannAngry ManAnita KilliNorwayTrollfilm AS


TV filmsThe Cristal for best TV productionDer Kleine und das BiestLe Petit Garçon et le MonstreThe Little Boy and the BeastJohannes Weiland, Uwe HeidschötterGermanyStudio Soi GMBH & Co. KG Filmproduktion

Special Award for a TV seriesDragons et Princesses ''Le garçon qui ne mentait jamais''Michel OcelotFranceNord-Ouest Films, Studio O, Canal+ SA

Award for best TV specialThe GruffaloJakob Schuh, Max LangGrande-BretagneMagic Light Pictures

Commissioned films

Educational, scientific or industrial film AwardGiallo a MilanoSergio BassoItaly20100958 - La Sarraz Pictures SRL

Advertising or promotional film AwardHarmonix ''The Beatles: Rock Band''Pete CandelandGreat Britain, USAPassion Pictures

Award for best music videoSour ''Hibi No Neiro''Sour "Tone of Everyday"Masashi Kawamura, Hal Kirkland, Magico Nakamura, Masayoshi NakamuraJapan

GRADUATION FILMSGRADUATION FILMS JURYPeter de Seve, Nick Park, Juan Pablo Zaramella

Award for best graduation filmThe Lighthouse KeeperDavid François, Rony Hotin, Jérémie Moreau, Baptiste Rogron, Gaëlle Thierry, Maïlys ValladeFranceGobelins, L'école De L'image

Special Jury AwardSauvagePaul CabonFranceLa Poudrière, Ecole Du Film D'animation

Special DistinctionLebensaderAngela SteffenGermanyFilmakademie Baden-Wurttemberg

OTHER PRIZESJUNIOR JURY SHORT FILMSCamille Degeorges, Cheiick Abdoulaye Guem, Adja Ratoussian Ramata Ouedraogo, William Serviant

Junior Jury Award for a short filmDon't GoTurgut AkacikTurkeyAnima Studios Istanbul

JUNIOR JURY GRADUATION FILMSMartin Duvernoy, Valentin Hattu, Melaine Marie Pascal Koudougou, Damase Wendlassida Ouedraogo

Junior Jury Award for a graduation filmKungfu Bunny 3 – CounterattackZhiyong LiChinaCommunication University Of China

Unicef AwardSinna mannAngry ManAnita KilliNorwayTrollfilm AS

FIPRESCI JURYJohannes Bensmann-Wolters, Grégory Cavinato, Francis Gavelle

A word from the jury:


We poor film critics not only have to be very articulate when praising or condemning a film, but we have also to be very creative and come up with witty, clever texts each week for the cinema loving audience.

So we can really relate to the heroine in the film we chose as our winner. And it's with great pride we say: we all loved Miss Remarkable and her career!"

Fipresci AwardFroken Markvardig & Karriären / Mademoiselle Remarquable et sa carrière / Miss Remarkable & Her CareerFroken Markvardig & KarriarenMademoiselle Remarquable et sa carriereMiss Remarkable & Her CareerJoanna Rubin DrangerSweden, Ireland, DenmarkLisbet Gabrielsson Film ab, Bullittfilm, A Man & Ink Ltd.

ANNECY 2010 YOUTUBE JURYJoanna Quinn, Arthur de Pins, David Silverman

Annecy 2010 YouTube AwardPOPBernard DerrimanAustralia

"CANAL+ creative aid" Award for a short filmJe te pardonne / I Forgive YouPierre Mousquet, Jerome CauweBelgiumAdifac

Rick DeMott's picture

Rick DeMott
Animation World Network
Director of Content
Creator of Rick's Flicks Picks