Search form

Jacob Kafka's 'True Story' Takes Best in Show at ASIFA-East Awards

On Sunday, May 19, ASIFA-East awarded prizes for its 44th annual Animation Festival, with Jacob Kafka's Based on a True Story taking Best in Show.


On Sunday, May 19, ASIFA-East awarded prizes for its 44th annual Animation Festival, with awards given out across a variety of categories and craft from student, commercial, and independent entries to excellence in writing, design, and animation.

The award for Best in Show was given to Based on a True Story by Jacob Kafka, while the top three prizes for Best Independent Animation went to Sidewalk by Celia Bullwinkel, There Must Be Some Other Cat by the Greg Ford Company/Mark Kausler, and, in a tie for third place, It Took A While To Figure Shit Out by Arthur Metcalf and Bill Plympton's Drunker Than A Skunk.

Based on a True Story by Jacob Kafka

Sidewalk by  Celia Bullwinkel 

ImageThere Must Be Some Other Cat by Greg Ford Company/Mark Kausler

It Took A While To Figure Shit Out by Arthur Metcalf

Drunker Than A Skunk  by Plymptoons Studio/Bill Plympton

The complete list of winners is shown below:

Best In ShowBased on a True StoryJacob Kafka

Independent Films

First Place: SidewalkCelia Bullwinkel 

Second Place: There Must Be Some Other Cat Greg Ford Company/Mark Kausler 

Third Place (tied)It Took A While To Figure Shit Out by Arthur Metcalf

Third Place (tied)Drunker Than A Skunk by Plymptoons Studio/Bill Plympton

Excellence in Animation

It Took A While To Figure Shit OutArthur Metcalf

Excellence in Design

Christmas DayAce & Son Moving Picture Co./Richard O'Connor

Excellence in Writing

A Knock On More DoorDavid Chai

Experimental Films 

The Productive AniJamThe Productive/Katie Cropper & Cynthea Diaz

Commissioned Films

First Place: TEDed: Sex Determination/Buzzco/Candy Kugel

Second Place: Quiet Loud/Sesame Street/Bob Boyle 

Third Place: Sniffles/David Cowles & Jeremy Galante

Student Films

First Place: Tule Lake/Michelle Ikemoto

Second Place: Chasing Unicorns/Deena Beck

Third Place (tied): The Crawler/Seth Brady

Third Place (tied): Good Night Guard/Janice S. Rim

Honorable Mention (tied): Mirror/Q-Hyun Kim

Honorable Mention (tied): Register Rap!/Josh Weisbrod

Information and links to award-winning films can be found on the ASIFA-East blog.

Source: ASIFA-East