Search form

HPA Awards Announces 2013 Noms

2013 HPA Awards announce craft category nominees and special award winners; Judges Award for Creativity & Innovation and Engineering Excellence winners revealed.

Los Angeles, CA -- The Hollywood Post Alliance, the trade association for the post production community, announced the nominees for the craft categories of the 8th Annual HPA Awards and winners of several special awards. The HPA Awards honor excellence in post production and bring recognition to the achievements of individuals and companies who are engaged in significant and revolutionary work in post production. The HPA Awards will take place on the evening of November 7th, 2013, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, CA.

The number of entries in all categories and for special awards topped every year to date for this year's honors. The nominees in the 12 craft categories were chosen from a field of talented and innovative entries in color grading, editing, sound, and visual effects for motion pictures, commercials and television.

Nominees for the 2013 HPA Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

Star Trek Into Darkness Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Oblivion Mike Sowa // Technicolor

Anna Karenina Adam Glasman // Company 3

Life of Pi David Cole // Technicolor

Pacific Rim Maxine Gervais // Warner Bros. Motion Picture Imaging

Iron Man 3 Steven J. Scott // Technicolor

Man of Steel Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

“Castle – Hunt” Anthony Smith // Encore Hollywood

“Behind the Candelabra” John Daro // FotoKem

“Hell on Wheels – Slaughterhouse” Steven Porter // MTI FILM

“Game of Thrones – Kissed By Fire” Joe Finley // Modern VideoFilm

“CSI: Crime Scene Investigation – Ghosts of the Past” Paul Westerbeck // Encore Hollywood

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial 

Call of Duty Masks Dave Hussey // Company 3

Louis Vuitton “L'Invitation Au Voyage”Tim Masick // Company 3

Procter & Gamble: Thank You, Mom “Best Job” Adam Scott // The Mill

Under Armour “Brought To You By Under Armour” Tom Poole // Company 3

Mercedes-Benz “Soul” Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

Zero Dark Thirty William Goldenberg, A.C.E. and Dylan Tichenor, A.C.E.

Flight Jeremiah O’Driscoll

Les Miserables Melanie Ann Oliver and Chris Dickens, A.C.E.

Star Trek Into Darkness Maryann Brandon, A.C.E. and MaryJo Markey, A.C.E.

Argo William Goldenberg, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Television

“Breaking Bad – Gliding Over All” Kelley Dixon, A.C.E.

“Dexter – Are You…?” Louis Cioffi, A.C.E.

“Downton Abbey – Series 3, Episode 5” John Wilson, A.C.E. // Carnival Film & Television

“Breaking Bad – Dead Freight” Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.

“American Horror Story: Asylum – Welcome To Briarcliff” Joe Leonard and Bradley Buecker, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

Verizon Wireless “Big Vision” Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Nextel/Ferrari “Combustion” Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Verizon Wireless “Brothers” Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Obama for America “Lena’s First Time” Cristina Rackoff // Big Sky Editorial

Ragu “Hamster” Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

Gangster Squad Cameron Frankley and Dean Zupancic // Warner Bros. Sound Jason W. Jennings and Jon Taylor, CAS

Argo Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn John Reitz and Gregg Rudloff // Warner Bros. Sound

Pacific Rim Scott Gershin // Formosa Group John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Timothy O. LeBlanc // Warner Bros. Sound

Iron Man 3 Mark Stoeckinger, Michael Keller, Mike Prestwood Smith and Andrew DeCrisofaro // Todd/Soundelux

Turbo Richard King and Michael Babcock // Warner Bros. Sound Andy Nelson // Fox Studios Post Production Services

Outstanding Sound – Television

“Banshee – Pilot” Brad North, Elmo Ponsdomenech, William Freesh, Luis Galdames and Tiffany Griffith // Universal Sound

“Dexter – A Beautiful Day” Pete Elia, CAS; Kevin Roache, CAS; Fredric Judkins, MPSE; Christian Buenaventura and John Snider // Technicolor Creative Services

“The Americans – Mutually Assured Destruction” Ken Hahn, James Redding and Neil Cedar // Digital Cinema, LLC

“Homeland – Beirut is Back” Alan Decker and Nello Torri // Universal Sound Craig Dellinger, Larry Long and Jonathan Golodner // Sony Pictures Studios

“Game of Thrones – The Climb” Paula Fairfield, Brad Katona, Jed Dodge, Onnalee Blank and Mathew Waters // Todd AO

Outstanding Sound – Commercial

Honda “Hands” Anthony Moore // Factory

Lurpak “Weave Your Magic” Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios

Barclaycard “Toys” Sam Robson // Factory 

Nextel/Ferrari “Combustion” Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Lurpak “Good, Proper Food” Dan Beckwith // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

Man of Steel Keith Miller, Daniel Barrett, Phillip Leonhardt, Thelvin Cabezas and Mark Tait // Weta Digital

Star Trek Into Darkness Dan Pearson, Jay Cooper, Alex Prichard and Adrien Saint Girons // Industrial Light & Magic

Adam Watkins // Pixomondo

Iron Man 3 Guy Williams, Aaron Gilman, Matt Aitken, Dan Macarin and Thrain Shadbolt // Weta Digital

Pacific Rim Lindy DeQuattro, Eddie Pasquarello, Nigel Sumner, Derrick Carlin and Chris Lentz // Industrial Light & Magic

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White and Eric Reynolds // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

“Banshee – Pilot” Armen Kevorkian, Mike Oakley, Jeremy Jozwik, Andranik Taranyan and Gevork Babityan // Encore VFX

“Under the Dome – Pilot” Stephan Fleet, Matthieu Perin, Jeremy Jozwik, Chad Schott and Arutyun Arthur Sayan // Encore Hollywood

“Game of Thrones – Valar Dohaeris” Joe Bauer and Jabbar Raisani

Jörn Grosshans and Sven Martin // Pixomondo Doug Campbell // Spin VFX

“Magic City – Angels of Death” Mark Velazquez, Seth Brower, Doug Ludwig, Jeremy Jozwik and Chad Schott // Encore Hollywood

“Hawaii Five-0 –La O Na Makuahine” Armen Kevorkian, Jeremy Jozwik, Rick Ramirez, Gevork Babityan and Andranik Taranyan // Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

Galaxy “Chauffeur” Simon French, William Bartlett, Stephen Cullingford and Grant Walker // Framestore

Johnnie Walker “Where Flavour Is King” Colin Renshaw // Alt.vfx

Kia “Space Babies” Brian Burke, Charles Abou Aad, Jordan Harris and Patrick Ferguson // Method Studios

Abbott’s Village Bakery “Free Range” Colin Renshaw // Alt.vfx

Qualcomm Snapdragon “Coming Soon” James Dick, Andy Rowan Robinson, Shayne Ryan and Russell Dodgson // Framestore

In addition to the craft categories, the HPA also announced the winners of the Engineering Excellence Award as well as the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production. These prestigious Awards recognize the technical excellence and creative innovation that is helping to drive the post industry forward.

The winners of the HPA Engineering Excellence Award sponsored by NAB Show are:

  • DTS, Inc.
  • MDA
  • NVIDIA GRID Visual ComputingAppliance (VCA)
  • Sony Pictures Imageworksand The Foundry
  • FLIX
  • Telestream
  • 16 bit 4:4:4:4 TranscodingTechnology
  • The winner of the HPAJudges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production is:
  • Park Road Post Production
  • Next Generation FeatureFilm Workflow: Enabling HFR 48FPS Stereoscopic 3D On Set to On Screen

Tickets for the HPA Awards are available now and can be purchased online at or by calling the HPA at 213.614.0860 or writing

Source: Hollywood Post Alliance

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Jennifer Wolfe is Director of News & Content at Animation World Network.