Search form

Disney Online Developing Pirates Multiplayer Internet Game

Disney Online is developing a PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN massively multiplayer online role-playing game to debut in summer 2006, coinciding with the theatrical premiere of PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MANS CHEST.

Weve learned through our experience with Toontown that the market for massively multiplayer online role-playing games can indeed reach beyond traditional gamers, stated Ken Goldstein, evp/md, Disney Online. PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN is the perfect franchise for our second commercial effort in this arena. Fans of the movies and theme park attraction will be able to live their own unfolding pirate adventure through the game, including searching for lost treasures and battling numerous enemies on land and at sea.

Dick Cook, chairman of The Walt Disney Studios, added, This is a great way for game enthusiasts to experience the fun and excitement of playing the role of a pirate while competing against a wide variety of opponents in a great adventure. This game captures the same swashbuckling sense of humor, spirit and action that moviegoers loved in the first PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN film, which will continue with the next installment of the highly anticipated sequel in summer 2006. Disney Online has created a really entertaining and challenging game that will appeal to the adventurer in all of us.

The game is being designed by the Walt Disney Internet Groups VR Studio as a world of high seas action and adventure. Players will personalize their own pirate character and organize with other players to form a pirate crew and then embark on swashbuckling missions to battle both each other and the evil, undead pirates of the high seas in an effort to become the Caribbeans most legendary pirate.

Players will pay a subscription fee for the service they may access directly online. A registration service to sign-up to receive future game updates and launch information is available at www.pirateslegend.com.

Buena Vista Games (BVG), the videogame arm of The Walt Disney Co., will release additional titles based on PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MANS CHEST for PSP and Nintendo DS in conjunction with the movie launch.

Disney Online (www.disney.com), part of Walt Disney Internet Group, produces the number one kids' entertainment and family community destination on the World Wide Web. Launched in 1995, Disney.com is designed to reflect the vision of an "online theme park," providing an interactive gateway to all of the company's many Disney-branded Internet initiatives. Popular Disney Online places to visit include The Disney Channel (www.disneychannel.com), Playhouse Disney (www.playhousedisney.com), shopping at Disney Direct (www.disneydirect.com), Walt Disney Parks and Resorts (www.disneydestinations.com) Walt Disney Pictures (www.disneypictures.com), Disney DVD & Video (www.disneyvideos.com) and Radio Disney (www.radiodisney.com).

Among the many magical "neighborhoods" found at www.Disney.com are premium subscription services including Disney's Blast (www.disneyblast.com) and the recently announced Playhouse Disney Preschool Time Online (www.preschooltime.com). Disney Online also produces FamilyFun.com (www.familyfun.com) and Movies.com (www.movies.com).

Tags 
randomness