Search form

College Television Award Winners Announced

Students from UCLA, New York University, Cornell University, Pasadena's Art Center College of Design, University of Florida, Florida State University Graduate Film School in Tallahassee, Southern Illinois University, Northwestern University and Manhattan School of Music (in collaboration with Columbia University) took first place at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation's 29th College Television Awards.

The winners were announced Saturday at a black-tie gala ceremony at Culver Studios.

The recipient of the prestigious Bricker Humanitarian Award of $4,000 was presented to second place Animation winner Anthony Paul Scalmato of The Cleveland Institute of Art for WHEN THE WORLD GOES DARK.

New York University's Stephen Neary (first place Animation winner) was the recipient of the Ruckus Pick for SHARK SUIT: THE MUSICAL for which he received a Silver Trophy.

The Directing Award of $1000 went to second place Drama winner Justin Lerner, from UCLA's School of Theater, Film and Television for THE REPLACEMENT CHILD.

The 29th College Television Awards were hosted by Tom Bergeron (DANCING WITH THE STARS).

Winners were flown in from across the country to accept their awards and meet industry leaders at the invitation-only ceremony.

Winners' works and behind-the-scenes of the gala will be featured on the Sundance Channel;, and Plum TV.

Celebrity presenters at the awards ceremony included: Pamela Adlon (KING OF THE HILL); Andrea Bowen (DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES); James Burrows (Director, BACK TO YOU); Christian Clemenson (BOSTON LEGAL); Jack Coleman (HEROES); Matt Dallas (KYLE XY); Tony Denison (THE CLOSER); Ana Garcia (KNBC NEWS);Robert Gossett (THE CLOSER); Greg Grunberg (HEROES); Dule Hill (PSYCH); Kenny Johnson (SAVING GRACE); Roma Maffia (NIP/TUCK); Benito Martinez (THE SHIELD); Cesar Millan (DOG WHISPERER); Tara Summers (BOSTON LEGAL); Tamara Taylor (BONES); Dilshad Vadsaria (GREEK) and Emily VanCamp (BROTHERS AND SISTERS).

The College Television Awards recognize excellence in undergraduate and graduate student film/video productions in ten categories: childrens programs, comedy, documentary, drama, magazine shows, music composition and best use of music, newscasts, commercials, and animation.

This year the Television Academy Foundation received more than 400 entries submitted by 176 colleges and universities nationwide.

For the first time, preliminary and second-round judging of the awards was conducted on-line through the college web portal Ruckus.

Top contenders were judged by Blue Ribbon Panels in person at the Television Academy Foundations headquarters in North Hollywood.

First place winners were awarded $2,000, second place $1,000 and third place $500.

Several winners also received the Eastman Product Grant sponsored by Kodak in cooperation with the Television Academy Foundation.