Search form

Cinar Receives Fifth Emmy Award With Latest Arthur

The 28th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards were presented on May 18, 2001 by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Emmy Awards are presented to daytime television programs that are broadcast nationally between the hours of 2 a.m. and 6 p.m. This years nominees for Outstanding Children's Animated Program were: ARTHUR, PBS, Executive Producers - Carol Greenwald, Peter Moss and Pancho Kohner; CLIFFORD THE BIG RED DOG, PBS, Executive Producers - Deborah Forte and Mike Young; DRAGON TALES, PBS, Executive Producers - Nina Elias Bamberger and Jim Coane; MADELINE, DIC, Executive Producers - Andy Heyward, Robby London and Michael Maliani; and THE WILD THORNBERRYS, NIK, Executive Producers - Gabor Csupo and Arlene Klasky. The winner was ARTHUR, produced by Montreal, Canadas Cinar Entertainment. It was Cinars fifth Daytime Emmy Award. Based on the best-selling children's books by author Marc Brown, ARTHUR follows the adventures and misadventures of an eight-year-old boy, Arthur, with his friends and family. Each ARTHUR episode consists of two independent stories that focus on themes and events central to children's lives. The animated stories are linked by a live-action segment featuring school children who create their own ARTHUR-related activities. ZOBOOMAFOO, another Cinar production, won the Emmy for Outstanding Directing in a Children's Series. Other Emmy Award winners include: Outstanding Special Class Animated Program and Outstanding Achievement In Music Direction & Composition: BATMAN BEYOND, WB, Jean MacCurdy, Executive Producer; Outstanding Achievement In Main Title Design: BETWEEN THE LIONS, PBS, Randall Balsmeyer, Title Designer; Outstanding Performer In An Animated Program: DISNEY'S TEACHER'S PET, ABC, Nathan Lane, as Spot/Scott; Outstanding Pre-School Children's Series: SESAME STREET, PBS, Michael Loman, Executive Producer; and Outstanding Children's Series: READING RAINBOW, PBS, Twila C. Liggett, Executive Producer. For a complete list of winners, go to: