Search form

BAFTA Award Winners Announced

On Sunday February 10, 2013, the EE British Academy Film Awards look place at London's Royal Opera House with “Les Misérables,” “Argo,” “Django Unchained,” “Life of Pi” and “Amour” among the winners.

LONDON -- Argo was named Best Film at Sunday night at the EE British Academy Film Awards hosted by Stephen Fry, held at London’s Royal Opera House. Ben Affleck won the Director BAFTA and the film also took the Editing award.

Les Misérables won four BAFTAs: Production Design, Sound, Make Up & Hair and Supporting Actress for Anne Hathaway.

Amour won the award for Film Not in the English Language and Emmanuelle Riva won Leading Actress. Leading Actor was awarded to Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln.

Christoph Waltz won Supporting Actor for his performance in Django Unchained and the film’s writer/director Quentin Tarantino won the Original Screenplay BAFTA.

Outstanding British Film and Original Music were awarded to Skyfall. Life of Pi won the Cinematography and Special Visual Effects BAFTAs.

Anna Karenina won the Costume Design award. Silver Linings Playbook writer/director David O. Russell took home the Adapted Screenplay BAFTA.

Director Bart Layton and Producer Dimitri Doganis received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for their first feature film The Imposter.

Searching for Sugar Man received the Documentary award, and Brave took home the Animated Film BAFTA.

The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public, was presented to Juno Temple. The Making of Longbird won the Short Animation award and the Short Film award was presented to Swimmer.

Tessa Ross received the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema. The Fellowship, the highest accolade which the Academy can bestow, was presented to Alan Parker.

The full list of winners is shown below:

Best Film: Argo

Director: Ben Affleck (Argo)

Leading Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Leading Actress: Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)

Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)

Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)

Adapted Screenplay: David O Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Film Not in the English Language: Amour

Original Music: Skyfall (Thomas Newman)

Cinematography: Life Of Pi (Claudio Miranda)

Outstanding British Film: Skyfall

Animated Film: Brave

Editing: Argo (William Goldenberg)

Costume Design: Anna Karenina (Jacqueline Durran)

Make-up and Hair: Les Miserables (Lisa Westcott)

Sound: Les Miserables

Short Animation: The Making Of Longbird

Short Film: Swimmer

Bafta Fellowship: Sir Alan Parker

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: Tessa Ross

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer: Bart Layton, Dimitri Doganis (The Imposter)

Documentary: Searching For Sugar Man

Production Design: Les Miserables (Eve Stewart, Anna Lynch-Robinson)

Special Visual Effects: Life Of Pi

THE EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public): Juno Temple

Source: British Academy of Film and Television Arts

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Jennifer Wolfe is Director of News & Content at Animation World Network.