Search form

Askin Elected ATAS Chairman

Tribune Entertainment president/ceo Dick Askin was elected Aug. 22, 2003 by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' board of governors to replace writer/producer Bryce Zabel as chairman. Askin had served as vice chair and ran unopposed. Current second vice chair John Shaffner has moved up from to vice chairman. Newly elected to the post of second vice chair is Karen Miller becomes the second vice chair. Re-elected to second terms are secretary Daniel Birman, treasurer Leo Chaloukian and Los Angeles-area vice chair Mitch Waldow. New terms begin Oct. 1, 2003.