Search form

Art Directors Guild Unveils Production Design Nominees

The Art Directors Guild announces nominations in nine categories of Production Design for theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials and music videos competing in the ADG's 17th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards for 2012.

LOS ANGELES -- The Art Directors Guild (ADG) announced nominations in nine categories of Production Design for theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials and music videos competing in the ADG's 17th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards for 2012. The nominations were announced by ADG Council chair John Shaffner and Awards co-producers Greg Grande and Raf Lydon.

Deadline for final voting, which is done online, is January 31. The black-tie ceremony revealing and honoring winners will take place Saturday, February 2, from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills with Paula Poundstone serving as host for the fourth consecutive year.

Production designer Herman Zimmerman will be the recipient of the Guild's Lifetime Achievement Award. Hall of Fame inductees are Preston Ames, Richard MacDonald, and Edward S. Stephenson. The production designers behind the James Bond franchise, Sir Ken Adam, Allan Cameron, Dennis Gassner, and Peter Lamont, will be honored for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery.

The nominees for excellence in production design for a feature film in 2012 are:


Period Film

ANNA KARENINA Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood

ARGO Production Designer: Sharon Seymour

DJANGO UNCHAINED Production Designer: J. Michael Riva

LES MISÉRABLES Production Designer: Eve Stewart

LINCOLN Production Designer: Rick Carter

Fantasy Film CLOUD ATLAS Production Designers: Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup

LIFE OF PI Production Designer: David Gropman

PROMETHEUS Production Designer: Arthur Max

THE DARK KNIGHT RISES Production Designers: Nathan Crowley, Kevin Kavanaugh

THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY Production Designer: Dan Hannah

Contemporary Film FLIGHT Production Designer: Nelson Coates

SKYFALL Production Designer: Dennis Gassner

THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL Production Designer: Alan MacDonald

THE IMPOSSIBLE Production Designer: Eugenio Caballero

ZERO DARK THIRTY Production Designer: Jeremy Hindle


One-Hour Single Camera Television Series

BOARDWALK EMPIRE Episode: Resolution Production Designer: Bill Groom

DOWNTON ABBEY Episode: Christmas Special Production Designer: Donal Woods

GAME OF THRONES Episode: The Ghost of Harrenhal Production Designer: Gemma Jackson

HOMELAND Episode: The Choice Production Designer: John D. Kretschmer

NEWSROOM Episode: We Just Decided To Production Designer: Richard Hoover

Television Movie or Mini-Series AMERICAN HORROR STORY: ASYLUM Episode: I Am Anne Frank, Part 2 Production Designer: Mark Worthington

GAME CHANGE Production Designer: Michael Corenblith

HATFIELDS and MCCOYS Episode: Ep.#1.1-Night One, Ep.#1.2-Night Two, Ep.#1.3-Night Three Production Designer: Derek R. Hill

HEMINGWAY & GELLHORN Production Designer: Geoffrey Kirkland

MOCKINGBIRD LANE Production Designer: Michael Wylie

Episode of a Half Hour Single-Camera Television Series

COMMUNITY Episode: Pillows and Blankets Production Designer: Denise Pizzini

GIRLS Episode: Pilot Production Designer: Judy Becker

MODERN FAMILY Episode: Mistery Date Production Designer: Richard Berg

PARKS & RECREATION Episode: Soda Tax Production Designer: Ian Phillips

THE NEW NORMALEpisode: Sofa's ChoiceProduction Designer: Tony Fanning

Episode of a Multi-Camera, Variety, or Unscripted Series 2 BROKE GIRLS Episode: And The Silent Partner Production Designer: Glenda Rovello

DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL CONVENTION Production Designer: Bruce Rodgers

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER Episode: The Magicians Code Part 1 Production Designer: Stephan Olson

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE Episode: Mick Jagger Host Production Designer: Keith Raywood

THE VOICE Production Designer: Anton Goss, James Pearse Connelly

Awards, Music, or Game Shows 84th ANNUAL ACADEMY AWARDS Production Designer: John Myhre

GRAMMY NOMINATION CONCERT LIVE Episode: Countdown Production Designer: Matthew Russell

SUPER BOWL XLVI Episode: Halftime Show Starring Madonna Production Designer: Bruce Rodgers

THE 64th ANNUAL PRIMETIME EMMY AWARDS Production Designer: Steve Bass

THE AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS,_40th ANNUAL Production Designer: Joe Stewart

Commercial, PSA, Promo, and Music Video BUDWEISER The Return of the King Production Designer: Jason Hamilton

MACY'S Dream Production Designer: Carlos A. Menendez

NIKE Fast is Faster Production Designer: Tino Schaedler

NIKE+ Game On World Production Designer: James Chinlund

X-BOX Halo 4 Commissioning Production Designer: Christopher Glass

Source: Art Directors Guild

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Jennifer Wolfe is Director of News & Content at Animation World Network.