Search form

Animation Block Party Closes Submissions on May 29

NYC's premiere animation festival, Animation Block Party, closes for worldwide submissions on May 29, 2009. All entries must be postmarked by that date in order to be considered for this summer's July 24-26 film festival. In 2008, ABP received over 800 submissions, screening over 100 of these films during its three-day annual festival at Rooftop Films and Bam Cinematek.

This summer's ABP jury includes animation director, JJ Sedelmeier, Perfectland creator, Ben Meinhardt, Disney designer, Dan Haskett and NYU animation's Elizabeth Morringello. There are ten award categories ranging from narrative short to original design to experimental film. All ABP winners will receive a copy of Adobe AfterEffects, Toon Boom Studio, Boinx I-Stop Motion, a designer bag from Crumpler and much more.

The winner of best student film will receive a special ABP production grant to create a public service announcement for the 2010 Animation Block Party. Last summer's student winner, Choom, will premiere her new PSA on opening night this July 25.