Search form

AFI's 11th Annual Countdown to Unveil Top 10 Films in 10 Genres

American Film Institute announced the notable film artists that have been confirmed to appear in AFI's 10 TOP 10, a three-hour event airing on CBS Tuesday, June 17, 2008 (8-11 p.m., ET/PT). During the broadcast, some of Hollywood's biggest stars will help reveal the confidential list of America's 10 greatest films in 10 classic film genres.

To pay homage to the 10 revered genres, AFI enlisted film artists associated with each category to count down the top films, while providing their unique insight on each. The hosts for each genre include: Jessica Alba for Romantic Comedy; Cuba Gooding, Jr. for Sports; Sigourney Weaver for Sci-Fi; Kirk Douglas for Epic; Jennifer Love Hewitt for Animation; James Woods for Courtroom Drama; Gabriel Byrne for Mystery; and Sean Astin for Fantasy.

Additionally, the hosts for Gangster and Western film categories will be announced by AFI in the coming weeks.

The special will also feature exclusive interviews with Tim Allen, Ed Burns, Harrison Ford, Jane Fonda, Michael J. Fox, Brad Garrett, Ben Gazzara, Gene Hackman, Dennis Hopper, Norman Jewison, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, Ray Liotta, Robert Loggia, George Lucas, Sidney Lumet, Amy Madigan, Leonard Maltin, Dominic Monaghan, Elizabeth Perkins, Roman Polanski, Harold Ramis, John Ratzenberger, Rob Reiner, Isabella Rossellini, Susan Sarandon, Talia Shire, Steven Spielberg, Daniel Stern, Ridley Scott, Lesley Ann Warren, Vanessa Williams and Rita Wilson.

"AFI's 10 TOP 10 will serve as the ultimate guide to the very best in 10 of America's most beloved film genres," said AFI President and CEO Bob Gazzale. "Over the past decade, this series has sparked a national debate each year about what makes a great American movie, and why-ultimately driving audiences to discover and rediscover the classics of American film."

Past network specials have included AFI's 100 Years... 100 Movies (1998), 100 Stars (1999), 100 Laughs (2000), 100 Thrills (2001), 100 Passions (2002), 100 Heroes & Villains (2003), 100 Songs (2004), 100 Movie Quotes (2005) and 100 Cheers (2006) and AFI's 100 Years... 100 Movies-10th Anniversary Edition (2007).

The primetime special will be executive produced and directed by Gary Smith; executive produced for AFI by former AFI Board Chair Emeritus Frederick S. Pierce; and produced by Dann Netter. SFM Ent. is the distributor of the program.

This year, the jury was asked to choose up to 10 movies per genre from a comprehensive list, including entries such as: Animated: PINOCCHIO (1941) and SHREK (2001); Fantasy: KING KONG (1933) and THE LORD OF THE RINGS (2001); Sci-Fi: THE WAR OF THE WORLDS (1953) and THE MATRIX (1999); Gangster: SCARFACE (1932) and THE DEPARTED (2006); Westerns: THE SEARCHERS (1956) and UNFORGIVEN (1992); Sports: THE PRIDE OF THE YANKEES (1942) and SEABISCUIT (2003); Romantic Comedy: IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT (1934) and MY BEST FRIEND'S WEDDING (1997); Courtroom Drama: WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION (1957) and A FEW GOOD MEN (1992); Mystery: SHERLOCK HOLMES (1939) and THE USUAL SUSPECTS (1995); and Epics: BEN-HUR (1959) and BRAVEHEART (1995).

To compile the final list, AFI distributed a ballot with 500 nominated movies (50 per genre) to a jury of more than 1,500 leaders from the creative community, including film artists (directors, screenwriters, actors, editors, cinematographers), critics and historians.