Search form

ACE Announces Nominees for 2012 ACE Eddie Awards

American Cinema Editors (ACE) announced nominations for the 62nd Annual ACE Eddie Awards recognizing outstanding editing in nine categories of film, television and documentaries.

From ACE press release:

Universal City, CA -- American Cinema Editors (ACE) announced nominations for the 62nd Annual ACE Eddie Awards recognizing outstanding editing in nine categories of film, television and documentaries. Winners will be revealed during ACE’s 62nd annual black-tie awards ceremony on Saturday, February 18, 2012 in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.  As previously announced, the ceremony will be hosted by actor/comedian Patton Oswalt. Later this month ACE will announce the Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year honoree and two Career Achievement honorees.


BEST EDITED FEATURE FILM (DRAMATIC): The Descendants Kevin Tent, A.C.E. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Angus Wall, A.C.E. & Kirk Baxter, A.C.E. Hugo Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E. Moneyball Christopher Tellefsen, A.C.E. War Horse Michael Kahn, A.C.E.

BEST EDITED FEATURE FILM (COMEDY OR MUSICAL): The Artist Anne-Sophie Bion & Michel Hazanavicius  Bridesmaids William Kerr & Michael L. Sale Midnight in Paris Alisa Lepselter My Week with Marilyn Adam Recht Young Adult Dana E. Glauberman, A.C.E.

BEST EDITED ANIMATED FEATURE FILM: The Adventures of Tintin Michael Kahn, A.C.E. Puss in Boots Eric Dapkewicz Rango Craig Wood, A.C.E.

BEST EDITED HALF-HOUR SERIES FOR TELEVISION: Curb Your Enthusiasm: “Mister Softee” Roger Nygard Curb Your Enthusiasm: “Palestinian Chicken” Steven Rasch, A.C.E. Modern Family: “Express Christmas” Steven Rasch, A.C.E.

BEST EDITED ONE-HOUR SERIES FOR COMMERCIAL TELEVISION: Breaking Bad: “End Times” Kelley Dixon Breaking Bad: “Face Off” Skip MacDonald Friday Night Lights: “Always” Angela M. Catanzaro The Good Wife: “Real Deal” Hibah Frisina, A.C.E. The Walking Dead: “Save the Last One” Hunter Via, A.C.E.

BEST EDITED ONE-HOUR SERIES FOR NON-COMMERCIAL TELEVISION: Boardwalk Empire: “To the Lost” Tim Streeto Game of Thrones: “Baelor” Frances Parker, A.C.E. Homeland: “Pilot” Jordan Goldman, David Latham

BEST EDITED MINISERIES OR MOTION PICTURE FOR TELEVISION: Cinema Verite Sarah Flack, A.C.E. & Robert Pulcini Downton Abbey, Episode 1.1 John Wilson, A.C.E. Mildred Pierce, Part 1 

Affonso Gonçalves & Camilla Toniolo

BEST EDITED DOCUMENTARY: Cave of Forgotten Dreams

Joe Bini & Maya Hawke Freedom Riders Lewis Erskine & Aljernon Tunsil George Harrison: Living in the Material World David Tedeschi

BEST EDITED REALITY SERIES: Anthony Bourdain - No Reservations: “Haiti” Eric Lasby Beyond Scared Straight : "Chowchilla" Rob Goubeaux, A.C.E., Paul J. Coyne, A.C.E., Heather Abell, Audrey Capotosta, Maura Corey, Jeremy Gantz & Molly Shock Whale Wars: “Race to Save Lives” Eric Myerson, Pete Ritchie & Josh Crockett

Final Ballots will be mailed on January 23 and voting ends on February 9.  The Blue Ribbon panels where judging for all television categories and the documentary film category take place January 29.  Projects in the aforementioned categories are viewed and judged by panels comprised of professional editors (all ACE members).  All 600+ ACE members vote during the final balloting of the ACE Eddies, including active members, life members, affiliate members and honorary members.

The ACE Eddie Awards is considered an integral precursor to the Oscars®.  No film has won Best Picture at the Oscars® without also having received at least a Best Editing nomination since ORDINARY PEOPLE in 1981.  Since the ACE membership boasts a very high crossover within its membership of Academy® members, it is considered a very accurate bellwether for the eventual Oscar® outcome.

About American Cinema Editors

AMERICAN CINEMA EDITORS (ACE) is an honorary society of motion picture editors founded in 1950.  Film editors are voted into membership on the basis of their professional achievements, their dedication to the education of others and their commitment to the craft of editing.       

The objectives and purposes of the AMERICAN CINEMA EDITORS are to advance the art and science of the editing profession; to increase the entertainment value of motion pictures by attaining artistic pre-eminence and scientific achievement in the creative art of editing; to bring into close alliance those editors who desire to advance the prestige and dignity of the editing profession.

ACE produces several annual events including EditFest (a bicoastal editing festival), Invisible Art/Visible Artists (annual panel of Oscar® nominated editors), and the ACE Eddie Awards, now in its 62nd year, recognizing outstanding editing in nine categories of film, television and documentaries.

The organization publishes a quarterly magazine, CinemaEditor, highlighting the art, craft and business of editing and editors.

Jennifer Wolfe's picture

Jennifer Wolfe is Director of News & Content at Animation World Network.