Search form

Academy President Reups and Roth Will Produce Oscars

Academy award-winning writer Frank Pierson has been re-elected to his third term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by its board of governors. Producer/director/studio chief Joe Roth has been tapped to produce the 76th Annual Academy Awards telecast on February 29, 20-04 live from the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood on ABC-TV.

Roth, who headed three studios before forming Revolution Studios in May 2000, has produced nearly 40 films over the past 25 years. This will be his first time to produce the Oscarcast.

Other Academy election results include: Sid Ganis, a public relations branch governor and producer, was elected first vp. Directors branch governor Gil Cates and public relations branch governor Cheryl Boone Isaacs were elected vps, actors branch governor Kathy Bates was named treasurer and sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was re-elected secretary. Board members serve three-year terms, while Academy officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.