Search form

Academy Announces Finalists for 2007 Student Academy Awards

Thirty-three students from 16 colleges and universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 34th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. Their films will now be screened for and judged by Academy members, who will vote to select the winners. Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with accompanying cash prizes of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000, may be presented in each of four categories. Winning filmmakers will participate in a week of industry-related and social activities, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 9, 2007.

The animation finalists are:

* AFRICA PARTING, Robyn Yannoukos and Brian LoSchiavo, University of California, Los Angeles* ART'S DESIRE, Sarah Wickliffe, New York University, New York City* DOPPELGANGER, Ki-Peum Lee, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia* END, Joe Sun, Ringling College of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida* ICARUS AND THE TREE HERDER, Ian Worrel, California Institute of the Arts* A LEG UP, Bevin Carnes, Ringling College of Art and Design* MIRAGE, Youngwoong Jang, School of Visual Arts, New York City* RESPIRE, MON AMI, Chris Nabholz, Ringling College of Art and Design* TRAVEL DIARY, Keng-Ming Liu, School of Visual Arts, New York City

To reach this stage, students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalist films in each of the four categories. A foreign student also will be honored by the Academy in the Honorary Foreign Film category. Five students have been named as finalists: three from Germany and one each from the Netherlands and Serbia.

The Student Academy Awards were established by the Academy in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.

Tickets for the 34th Student Academy Awards presentation ceremony, at which the Gold Medal-winning films will be screened in their entirety along with the Honorary Foreign Film, are free and available now. To request a maximum of four tickets, call the Academy's box office at (310) 247-3000, ext. 130. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 9, at 6:00 pm at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater. For more information, visit

Rick DeMott's picture

Rick DeMott
Animation World Network
Creator of Rick's Flicks Picks