Search form

Academy Announces Finalists for 2004 Student Academy Awards

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has selected 29 students from 17 colleges and universities as finalists in its 31st annual Student Academy Awards competition. A third of the finalists will compete in the Animation category. Gold, silver and bronze medals, along with accompanying cash prizes of $5000, $3000 and $2000, may be awarded in each of the four categories. Winning filmmakers will participate in a week of industry-related and social activities, culminating in the presentation ceremony on June 13, 2004.

The animation finalists are:

THE BOX MAN, Nirvan Mullick, California Institute of the ArtsCATS, Chris Choy, California Institute of the ArtsCRIMENALS, Gregory Araya, University of Southern CaliforniaFRAGILE, David Cumbo, Art Institute of PittsburghGOING UP? Marci Ellis, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, FloridaLEMMINGS, Craig Van Dyke, Brigham Young University, Provo, UtahREX STEELE: NAZI SMASHER, Alexander Woo, New York UniversityROCK THE WORLD, Sukwon Shin, School of Visual Arts, New York CitySON OF SATAN, JJ Villard, California Institute of the ArtsTRICKS FOR A TREAT, Jeff Mednikow, School of Visual Arts, New York City

To reach this stage, students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalist films in each of the four categories. An honorary foreign film student will also be honored by the Academy.

The Student Academy Awards were established by the Academy in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. To see a list of the rest of the finalist, go to