Search form

4 Scientific and Technical Achievements to Be Honored with Oscars

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced four winners of Scientific and Technical Awards, which will be presented at the Beverly Wilshire on Saturday, February 7, 2009.

Unlike other Academy Awards to be presented this year, achievements receiving Scientific and Technical Awards need not have been developed and introduced during 2008. Rather, the achievements must demonstrate a proven record of contributing significant value to the process of making motion pictures.

In addition, two Scientific and Technical Special Award recipients will be recognized at the black-tie awards dinner: Ed Catmull, who will receive the Gordon E. Sawyer Award (an Oscar statuette), and Mark Kimball, who will receive the John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation (a medallion).

The Academy Awards for scientific and technical achievements are:

Technical Achievement Award (Academy Certificate)

To Steve Hylen for the concept and his continued leadership in the further development of the Hylen Lens System for motion picture effects photography.When attached to a film or digital production camera, this versatile aerial image device can produce a wide variety of optical effects interactively, on set and in real time without post-production image manipulation.

Scientific and Engineering Awards (Academy Plaque)

To Erwin Melzner for the overall concept including the optical and cooling systems, Volker Schumacher for the optical design, and Timo Muller for the mechanical design, of the Arrimax 18/12 lighting fixture for use in motion picture production.With its choice of vari-focus and specular reflectors, the superior optical and mechanical design of this lighting fixture allows it to operate at 18,000 watts, producing unsurpassed light quality while its innovative cooling system keeps the housing safe to touch.

To Jacques Delacoux for the concept and electronic design, and Alexandre Leuchter for the software and electronic design, of the Transvideo-video assist monitors for the motion picture industry.Using color LCD screens, the Transvideo monitors provide flicker-free video assist bright enough for use in sunlight and have become a ubiquitous tool in both spherical and anamorphic cinematography.

To Bruno Coumert and Jacques Debize for the optical design, and Dominique Chervin and Christophe Reboulet for the mechanical design, of the compact and lightweight Angenieux 15-40 and 28-76 zoom lenses for handheld motion picture photography.With focus and zoom functions that can be easily controlled by either the operator or focus puller while filming handheld, these lightweight zoom lenses demonstrate a very high degree of engineering, supporting both ease of use and quick interchange.

Portions of the Scientific and Technical Awards Presentations will be incorporated into the Oscar ceremony.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2008 will be presented on Sunday, February 22, 2009, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.