Animation World Magazine, Issue 3.3, June 1998


Cartoonist Awards. The National Cartoonists Society held its annual convention and awards show last month in Pasadena, California. Dilbert creator Scott Adams was honored with the Rueben award (named after Rube Goldberg), as well as the award for best newspaper strip. Dilbert is currently being produced as an animated series by Columbia TriStar Television. Also receiving awards on Saturday night were Nik Ranieri (Disney) for feature animation, David Feiss (Cartoon Network) for television animation, David Gantz for newspaper panel, Bob Staake for newspaper illustration, Glenn McCoy for editorial cartoons, Don Perlin for comic books, B.B. Sams for advertising and illustration, Guy Gilchrist for magazine and book illustration, Mark Tonra for gag cartoons and Dave Coverly for greeting cards.

Ankara. The tenth annual Ankara Film Festival recently took place in Turkey. The jury included festival programmer and Animation World Magazine contributor oTTo Alder. The animated films awarded are:
First Place: Flatworld by Daniel Greaves.
Second Place: Silence by Sylvie Bringas and Orly Yadin.
Third Place: The Chain by Phil Mulloy.
Special Mention: One by Lamia Karaali, for its combination of classical animation and computer technology.

Final Emmy Winners. The animated series, Arthur took home the Emmy Award for Best Children's Animated Program on May 15 at the 25th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony. The series is produced by Boston-based PBS affiliate WGBH and Canadian production company, Cinar Films. WGBH's Carol Greenwald accepted the award. Additional award winners were announced previously:
Special Class-Animated Program: Warner Bros.' The New Batman/Superman Adventures.
Outstanding Sound Editing-Special Class: Nickelodeon's Angry Beavers.
Performer in an Animated Program: Louie Anderson, As Dad/Little Louie In "Life With Louie," Fox.

Clios. The 1998 Clio Award winners were announced on May 15. Winners in animation categories are listed below. Winners in other categories, which include some animated productions, can be viewed on-line at

Television/Cinema - AnimationFilm, Gold Awards:
Backstage for Lipton Brisk Iced Tea. Production Company: Loose Moose, London.
Rocky for Lipton Brisk Iced Tea. Production Company: Loose Moose, London.

Television/Cinema - AnimationFilm, Silver Award:
Heritage/Springfield for Converse. Production Company: The U Ground, Los Angeles.

Television/Cinema - AnimationFilm, Bronze Awards:
Super Mom for Coca-Cola. Animation Company: Wild Brain, Inc., San Francisco.
Young Guns II for Nike. Animation Company: Russell Brookes.
Special Selections for Campbell's. Production Company: Acme Filmworks, Hollywood.

Television/Cinema - AnimationComputer, Gold Awards:
None in this category.

Television/Cinema - AnimationComputer, Silver Awards:
The Face of Technology for Comdisco. Animation Company: TOPIX/Mad Dog, Toronto.
Cookie Jar for Diamond Walnuts. Production Company: Industrial Light + Magic, San Rafael.
Goose for Pepsi. Animation Company: Digital Domain, Venice

Television/Cinema - AnimationComputer, Bronze Awards:
The Battery Gym for Panasonic Alkaline Battery/Matsushita Elec. Animation Company: Omnibus Japan, Tokyo.
Orkin Man for Orkin Exterminating Company. Animation Company: RG/A Digital Studios, New York.
Launch for Dodge Intrepid. Animation Company: RG/A, New York.

Note: Readers may contact any Animation World Magazine contributor by sending an e-mail to

Back to the News Table of Contents
Table of Contents
Past Issues

[about | help | home | | mail | register]

© 1998 Animation World Network