Search form

Got a moment to help a student with a research topic?

1 post / 0 new
Got a moment to help a student with a research topic?

Hi everyone! I'm studying my MA Degree in animation and I have a research topic that I could use a few extra opinions on. I've been investigating the uncanny and the Uncanny Valley theory and it's relation to animation and discovered that the basic "uncanny rule" is that photorealistic animated characters often creep audiences out for a number of reasons. 

So, at the moment I'm investigating possible exceptions for the rule and I've potentially got two. 

First off, video games. I believe that video games are an exception to the rule because of the direct link between the player and the character/world presented onscreen. Unlike film, the player has direct control over the character, so the illusion of life is sort of shattered really. I think it's that illusion of life that can disturb people, so perhaps this is why. Of course, for all the non playable characters, that illusion might be necessary for the sake of immersion. A horror game, for example, needs those monsters to be creepy and have that illusion of life. So, what are your thoughts on this? Do you think the interactivity of video games presents an exception the the uncanny rule.