Search form

I want to do animation but have no idea if I'm suited for it

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
I want to do animation but have no idea if I'm suited for it

Hello everyone. I'm 16 and new here. I came across this forum while looking for info. on animation and all. I'm in the second year of high school and I really should choose a career. I'm really into art. I've always loved drawing, my mother says that I've been drawing since I was 2 years old.
Until two years ago I drew from love and passion. I learned from books, internet and TV. I would draw characters from my favourite cartoons. Gradually I became better. Two years ago I entered a high school where there were advanced art classes that prepared you for A levels (some exams related to UK). This year I'm doing my AS level. My area of expertise is traditional art: Painting, drawing, recently I've started sculpting as a hobby.
For a few years now I've been hooked up on anime and drawn in that style. But lately I thought that I'm too focused on one point and closed off myself in a frame. So I'm struggling to get out of it. I'm discovering and trying other styles and trying to expand my knowledge.
So here is my question about animation. I decided (for now) to pursuit a career in animation. Now I know there are a lot of sub-junctions under the title "animation" like VFX artist, storyboard artist, 2D animator, 3D animator etc etc..
I'm into drawing so I'd probably go for 2D&3D but that's not my main concern. I'm not sure if I'm (at all) suited for animation. I have no experience in digital art, I only recently started drawing using SAI and Photoshop. I have no knowledge of the technical stuff.. I'm not even familiar with it.