Search form

How to Pursue Career as Story Artist

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
How to Pursue Career as Story Artist

I really want to be a writer/story artist at an animation studio, but I'm not sure how to get my foot in the door. I have some questions and would really appreciate any advice.

1. What do I include in a portfolio / demoreel for this position?
2. Is story artist an entry level position?
3. Do I have to live in San Francisco or LA before I could get a job there?

Thank you so much for the help!

Thanks so much for the help. If I could continue I have a few further questions.

1. I was referring to full time positions instead of free-lance. Do I have to live in LA before getting an entry level full time position?

2. If story artist is not entry level, what job could I do to get my foot in the door?

3. Should I look for jobs online, or do I have to know someone? Where is a place to look for animation jobs online?

Thank you again!

Wow, this is very helpful. I am a student who is just about to graduate from a liberal arts college. I double majored in Art and English. As for a portfolio, I have some large scale drawings which I drew in pen and painted for my senior exhibition, small drawings and sketches, and a few small Flash animation samples. I would really appreciate if you could tell me what kinds of positions I seem fit for with what I have to show. Thank you again. I really appreciate the help.

Thank you so much! You really have helped me, and if you could answer one last question, I would really, really appreciate it! What I would really like to do is be a writer at a studio, and I thought working as an artist could help me get a foot in the door. Could you tell me the steps I would take to become a writer at a studio? Again thanks so much for giving me your time.