Search form

grab a coffee... you'll need one to read this

37 posts / 0 new
Last post
grab a coffee... you'll need one to read this

I have a statement to make, if it pleases patrons of this site.

If you've ever seen south park, think of the animation style used for Mel Gibson and Sadam Hussein (to name a few), as that is the style of animation i am interested in... a photo of someones head, on a cut out body.

My personal opinion is that a story is the most important issue with any production... but then i would say that cos i'm a writer... but think about it... you could have the best actors, animators, directors and so on... but if you don't have a simple screenplay to work from, you have nothing but good intentions.

The story is primarilly what keeps people hooked, as a good story that goes somewhere will leave people wanting more, whereas a bad story that goes nowhere will leave people wanting something else to watch... and without wishing to jeopardise the case for the defence (my good self), animation is merely a means to aid a story.

BY WHICH I MEAN................ conventional feature films use actors to give a story imagery, though without special effects, all actors are limited... cartoons on the other hand allow for significantly more scope and versatility, as animated characters can do and get away with more than an actor ever could.

All of which brings me to costing.

How much would it cost to create five minutes of animation in the above mentioned style?

Somewhere between 500 pounds and five thousand pounds, depending on who is animating perhaps? in that, an out of work post graduate who is very hungry and seeking to create a showreel, is going to be cheaper to hire than an experienced animator with a showreel longer than walt disney for example... but hey, don't take that statement personally, as it applies to every industry sector out there.