Search form

Best 2D animation sofware?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Best 2D animation sofware?

Hello

I have been working as freelance animator for several years now and am looking into branching out into using other kinds of software for different effects. There are so many different 2D softwares on the market, I was wondering if anyone could make a recommendation?

I use Flash a lot and am also traditionally trained in cell and paper animation. I would like software that would allow me to create a more painted or inky look and be able to experiment with textures and layers as I'm a bit bored with the vector based flat look of flash. I would like to keep it entirely digital as possible as I'm not interested in scanning in paper or anything like that. I am considering the toonboom animate set and have also had a look at TVP-Animation Pro 9.

Could anyone give me some advice?

Thanks and all the best

Selina

Flipbook by Digicel, Inc.

Hello.

I'm not a Flash person, I been using FLIPBOOK for the last few years and I love it! It is EASY to use. I was amazed at the quality of image when I saw my film on the big screen.

Thanks.

I would like to keep it entirely digital as possible as I'm not interested in scanning in paper or anything like that. I am considering the toonboom animate set and have also had a look at TVP-Animation Pro 9.

For paperless animation I would highly recommend TVP Animation , either the Standard or PRO edition.

-David Nethery

http://paperless-animation.blogspot.com

Thanks so much for your help. I've had a look at both your suggestions. The TVP software looks really open in terms of the different styles and looks you can achieve. I used to work with a multiplane so to recreate the look of paint on glass and roughly painted cell would be fantastic and it looks like TVP allows that.